Franklin County, Alabama · Nursing home
RedBay Nursing and Rehab Center
1 of 5 overall from CMS
106 Tenth Avenue Northwest, Red Bay, AL 35582
At a glance
- Overall rating 1 of 5 Below the state average of 3.0
- Nurse time per resident, per day 2.96 hours Below the state average of 3.88
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 13 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 64.8% of 90 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
RedBay Nursing and Rehab Center is a 90-bed nursing home in Red Bay, Alabama (Franklin County). CMS rates it 1 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 2.96 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, below the Alabama average of 3.88. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 90
- Residents per day (average)
- 58.3
- Certified since
- 1978 (48 yrs)
For profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and Medicaid
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask RedBay Nursing and Rehab Center
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS counts 7 health deficiencies in the latest inspection cycle (the standard inspection on Mar 25, 2022 plus complaint and infection-control inspections); the Alabama average is 4.0. Which have been corrected?Inspection results in CMS data
- Reported nurse staffing is 2.66 hours per resident on weekends against 2.96 overall. Who covers Saturdays and Sundays?Weekend staffing in CMS data
- About 64.8% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 1 of 5 Alabama average 3.0
- Health inspections 2 of 5 Alabama average 2.8
- Staffing 1 of 5 Alabama average 3.6
- Quality measures 1 of 5 Alabama average 3.2
The vertical line marks the Alabama average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 2.96 h Alabama average 3.88
- Nurse aides 1.74 h Alabama average 2.44
- Licensed practical nurses 0.76 h Alabama average 0.79
- Registered nurses 0.46 h Alabama average 0.65
- All staff, weekends 2.66 h Alabama average 3.26
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 6 hours. The vertical line marks the Alabama average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Alabama average46.9%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Alabama average39.5%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Alabama and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Alabama | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 9.1% | 12.0% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 2.6% | 5.4% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 4.9% | 1.0% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 5.0% | 2.4% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 11.4% | 1.4% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.6% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 2.3% | 3.3% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 99.1% | 92.2% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 16.0% | 12.1% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 51.3% | 24.5% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 94.8% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 4.7% | 5.4% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 9.8% | 12.8% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 31.5% | 21.2% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.96 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.70 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Alabama | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 100.0% | 85.3% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 2.0% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 80.3% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 24.8% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 11.3% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 13 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Mar 25, 2022 | 7 | 1 |
| Aug 29, 2019 | 3 | 10 |
| Jul 25, 2018 | 3 | 5 |
Alabama homes averaged 4.0 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (13)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 20, 2022)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 20, 2022)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 20, 2022)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 20, 2022)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 20, 2022)
Show 8 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide for the safe, appropriate administration of IV fluids for a resident when needed.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 20, 2022)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 20, 2022)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 23, 2019)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 23, 2019)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 23, 2019)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 21, 2018)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 27, 2018)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 27, 2018)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Alabama homes averaged 0.3 fines and $12,315 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Alabama
- Size155 of 224 by certified beds
- Alabama average residents per day98.1
- ChainNone listed
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Franklin County4
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for RedBay Nursing and Rehab Center?
RedBay Nursing and Rehab Center has an overall rating of 1 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 2, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 1.
How many beds does RedBay Nursing and Rehab Center have?
RedBay Nursing and Rehab Center has 90 certified beds. It averages 58.3 residents per day, about 64.8% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at RedBay Nursing and Rehab Center?
The home reports 2.96 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 0.46 hours from registered nurses. The Alabama average is 3.88 hours and 0.65 hours from registered nurses.
Has RedBay Nursing and Rehab Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does RedBay Nursing and Rehab Center accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 2 of 5 Courtyards Comm Living Center 66beds 89.5%in use 3.63nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 The Meadows 130beds 96.2%in use 3.77nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 Burns Nursing Home, Inc. 57beds 90.5%in use 4.06nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Franklin County
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 015201. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.