Kodiak Island, Alaska · Nursing home
Providence Kodiak Island Med LTC
3 of 5 overall from CMS
1915 E Rezanof Drive, Kodiak, AK 99615
At a glance
- Overall rating 3 of 5 Below the state average of 3.4
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year 34.1% Below the state average of 50.4%
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 26 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 97.7% of 22 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Providence Kodiak Island Med LTC is a 22-bed nursing home in Kodiak, Alaska (Kodiak Island). CMS rates it 3 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 22
- Residents per day (average)
- 21.5
- Certified since
- 1994 (32 yrs)
Non profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and Medicaid
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Providence Kodiak Island Med LTC
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS counts 11 health deficiencies in the latest inspection cycle (the standard inspection on Dec 5, 2025 plus complaint and infection-control inspections); the Alaska average is 9.0. Which have been corrected?Inspection results in CMS data
- About 97.7% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Is there a waiting list, and how long is it?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 3 of 5 Alaska average 3.4
- Health inspections 2 of 5 Alaska average 2.9
- Staffing Not rated Alaska average 4.5
- Quality measures 5 of 5 Alaska average 3.9
The vertical line marks the Alaska average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported Alaska average 6.88
- Nurse aides Not reported Alaska average 4.06
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported Alaska average 0.70
- Registered nurses Not reported Alaska average 2.12
- All staff, weekends Not reported Alaska average 6.09
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 10 hours. The vertical line marks the Alaska average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnover34.1%
- Alaska average50.4%
- Registered nurse turnover44.4%
- Alaska average48.4%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Alaska and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Alaska | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 27.9% | 16.7% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 5.3% | 5.3% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.8% | 1.4% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 2.4% | 2.5% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 10.6% | 6.5% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 0.0% | 3.2% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 85.9% | 93.3% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 20.2% | 19.5% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 10.6% | 14.7% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 96.0% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 10.4% | 6.9% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 13.9% | 20.0% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 4.2% | 18.8% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 0.65 | 1.00 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 1.16 | 1.36 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Alaska | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 80.0% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.5% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 85.5% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 15.0% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 11.0% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 26 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Dec 5, 2025 | 11 | 5 |
| Nov 22, 2024 | 6 | 3 |
| Sep 22, 2023 | 9 | 7 |
Alaska homes averaged 9.0 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (26)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 19, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 19, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 19, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 19, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Conduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 19, 2026)
Show 21 more
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Ensure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 19, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 19, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 19, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 19, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 19, 2026)
-
CPotential for minimal harm, widespread
Post nurse staffing information every day.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 19, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 6, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 6, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Keep all essential equipment working safely.
Environmental · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 6, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 6, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 6, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 6, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Post nurse staffing information every day.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 16, 2023)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 16, 2023)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 16, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Honor the resident's right to organize and participate in resident/family groups in the facility.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 16, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Properly hold, secure, and manage each resident's personal money which is deposited with the nursing home.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 16, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.
Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 16, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 1, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 16, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide each resident with a nourishing, palatable, well-balanced diet that meets his or her daily nutritional and special dietary needs.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 16, 2023)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Alaska homes averaged 0.6 fines and $26,572 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Alaska
- Size12 of 20 by certified beds
- Alaska average residents per day37.0
- ChainNone listed
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Kodiak Island1
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Providence Kodiak Island Med LTC?
Providence Kodiak Island Med LTC has an overall rating of 3 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 2, staffing is not published and quality measures is 5.
How many beds does Providence Kodiak Island Med LTC have?
Providence Kodiak Island Med LTC has 22 certified beds. It averages 21.5 residents per day, about 97.7% of its certified beds.
Has Providence Kodiak Island Med LTC been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Providence Kodiak Island Med LTC accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 5 of 5 South Peninsula Hospital LTC 28beds 92.9%in use 8.87nurse hours a day
- 4 of 5 Heritage Place 60beds 67.3%in use 6.85nurse hours a day
- 3 of 5 Providence Seward Mountain Haven 40beds 97.2%in use 6.27nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Kodiak Island
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 025030. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.