Bethel, Alaska · Nursing home
Yukon Kuskokwim Elder's Home
3 of 5 overall from CMS
1100 Chief Eddie Hoffman Hwy, Bethel, AK 99559
At a glance
- Overall rating 3 of 5 Below the state average of 3.4
- Nurse time per resident, per day 9.10 hours Above the state average of 6.88
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 20 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $10,117 1 fine
- Certified beds in use 96.1% of 18 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Yukon Kuskokwim Elder's Home is a 18-bed nursing home in Bethel, Alaska (Bethel). CMS rates it 3 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 9.10 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, above the Alaska average of 6.88. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $10,117 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 18
- Residents per day (average)
- 17.3
- Certified since
- 2014 (12 yrs)
Non profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and MedicaidLocated in a hospital
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Yukon Kuskokwim Elder's Home
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 1 fine totaling $10,117 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- About 96.1% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Is there a waiting list, and how long is it?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- Registered nurse time is 1.82 hours per resident per day; the Alaska average is 2.12. Is an RN on site overnight?RN staffing in CMS data
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 3 of 5 Alaska average 3.4
- Health inspections 3 of 5 Alaska average 2.9
- Staffing 4 of 5 Alaska average 4.5
- Quality measures 4 of 5 Alaska average 3.9
The vertical line marks the Alaska average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 9.10 h Alaska average 6.88
- Nurse aides 5.05 h Alaska average 4.06
- Licensed practical nurses 2.22 h Alaska average 0.70
- Registered nurses 1.82 h Alaska average 2.12
- All staff, weekends 8.62 h Alaska average 6.09
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 10 hours. The vertical line marks the Alaska average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Alaska average50.4%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Alaska average48.4%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Alaska and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Alaska | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 20.9% | 16.7% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 9.2% | 5.3% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.0% | 1.4% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 2.5% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 2.1% | 6.5% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 0.0% | 3.2% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 100.0% | 93.3% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 18.9% | 19.5% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 27.7% | 14.7% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 96.0% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 4.6% | 6.9% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 16.6% | 20.0% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 28.0% | 18.8% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.00 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.36 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Alaska | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 80.0% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.5% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 85.5% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 15.0% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 11.0% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 20 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy. 1 was cited in connection with a complaint investigation.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Mar 6, 2026 | 5 | 1 |
| Jan 31, 2025 | 9 | 4 |
| Dec 15, 2023 | 6 | 3 |
Alaska homes averaged 9.0 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (20)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 9, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 9, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 9, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Set up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 9, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide activities to meet all resident's needs.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 9, 2026)
Show 15 more
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
Nursing and Physician Services · Past Non-Compliance (May 31, 2024)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 17, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 17, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 17, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure that the resident and his/her doctor meet face-to-face at all required visits.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 17, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.
Complaint investigation · Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 17, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
Pharmacy Service · Past Non-Compliance (Jan 30, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 17, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 17, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 29, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Honor the resident's right to organize and participate in resident/family groups in the facility.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 29, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 29, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 29, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 29, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 29, 2024)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Jan 31, 2025 | Fine | $10,117 |
Alaska homes averaged 0.6 fines and $26,572 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Alaska
- Size17 of 20 by certified beds
- Alaska average residents per day37.0
- ChainNone listed
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Bethel1
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Yukon Kuskokwim Elder's Home?
Yukon Kuskokwim Elder's Home has an overall rating of 3 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 3, staffing is 4 and quality measures is 4.
How many beds does Yukon Kuskokwim Elder's Home have?
Yukon Kuskokwim Elder's Home has 18 certified beds. It averages 17.3 residents per day, about 96.1% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Yukon Kuskokwim Elder's Home?
The home reports 9.10 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 1.82 hours from registered nurses. The Alaska average is 6.88 hours and 2.12 hours from registered nurses.
Has Yukon Kuskokwim Elder's Home been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $10,117 in the past three years.
Does Yukon Kuskokwim Elder's Home accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Bethel
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 025037. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.