Pima County, Arizona · Nursing home
Arizona State Veteran Home-Tucson
3 of 5 overall from CMS
555 East Ajo Way, Tucson, AZ 85713
At a glance
- Overall rating 3 of 5 Below the state average of 3.3
- Nurse time per resident, per day 5.05 hours Above the state average of 3.98
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 15 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 97.4% of 120 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Arizona State Veteran Home-Tucson is a 120-bed nursing home in Tucson, Arizona (Pima County). CMS rates it 3 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 5.05 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, above the Arizona average of 3.98. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 120
- Residents per day (average)
- 116.9
- Certified since
- 2012 (14 yrs)
Government - State Participates in Medicare and Medicaid
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Arizona State Veteran Home-Tucson
Chosen from this home's public data.
- About 97.4% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Is there a waiting list, and how long is it?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 3 of 5 Arizona average 3.3
- Health inspections 3 of 5 Arizona average 2.8
- Staffing 3 of 5 Arizona average 2.9
- Quality measures 4 of 5 Arizona average 4.5
The vertical line marks the Arizona average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 5.05 h Arizona average 3.98
- Nurse aides 3.09 h Arizona average 2.24
- Licensed practical nurses 1.25 h Arizona average 1.04
- Registered nurses 0.70 h Arizona average 0.70
- All staff, weekends 4.63 h Arizona average 3.51
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 9 hours. The vertical line marks the Arizona average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Arizona average45.1%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Arizona average43.6%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Arizona and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Arizona | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 20.9% | 10.7% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 3.7% | 5.3% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.5% | 0.8% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 2.2% | 1.2% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 0.0% | 3.9% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.3% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 3.1% | 2.1% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 99.6% | 96.9% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 19.6% | 12.8% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 6.2% | 21.0% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 94.6% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 7.6% | 4.4% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 14.3% | 20.6% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 17.8% | 10.6% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 0.00 | 1.47 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 0.07 | 1.42 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Arizona | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 87.1% | 91.8% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.2% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 87.3% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 23.7% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 10.4% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 15 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy. 3 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Apr 10, 2026 | 6 | 1 |
| Jan 5, 2024 | 3 | 3 |
| Sep 30, 2022 | 6 | 0 |
Arizona homes averaged 6.4 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (15)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 30, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 30, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 30, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 2, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Protect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 2, 2026)
Show 10 more
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Complaint investigation · Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 28, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 28, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 22, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 28, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 14, 2022)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 14, 2022)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 14, 2022)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate care for a resident to maintain and/or improve range of motion (ROM), limited ROM and/or mobility, unless a decline is for a medical reason.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 14, 2022)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide routine and 24-hour emergency dental care for each resident.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 14, 2022)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 14, 2022)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Arizona homes averaged 0.5 fines and $8,928 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Arizona
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Arizona State Veteran Home-Tucson?
Arizona State Veteran Home-Tucson has an overall rating of 3 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 3, staffing is 3 and quality measures is 4.
How many beds does Arizona State Veteran Home-Tucson have?
Arizona State Veteran Home-Tucson has 120 certified beds. It averages 116.9 residents per day, about 97.4% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Arizona State Veteran Home-Tucson?
The home reports 5.05 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 0.70 hours from registered nurses. The Arizona average is 3.98 hours and 0.70 hours from registered nurses.
Has Arizona State Veteran Home-Tucson been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Arizona State Veteran Home-Tucson accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 2 of 5 Sandstone of Tucson Rehab Centre 240beds 49.2%in use 3.76nurse hours a day
- 4 of 5 Park Avenue Health and Rehabilitation Center 200beds 75.0%in use 3.13nurse hours a day
- 4 of 5 Catalina Post Acute and Rehabilitation 102beds 95.4%in use 3.98nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Pima County
Who to call in Arizona
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Arizona.
- Long-term care ombudsman Arizona Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program (Office of Arizona State Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program) 602-542-6454 (Extension 9 (state office). Regional programs: Maricopa County 602-264-4357; Pima County 520-790-7262; Yavapai, Coconino, Navajo and Apache counties 877-521-3500; Mohave, La Paz and Yuma counties 928-217-7114; Pinal and Gila counties 520-836-2758; Cochise, Graham, Greenlee and Santa Cruz counties 520-432-2528 ext. 206. Navajo Nation 602-542-6454 or 602-542-6432; Inter-Tribal Council of Arizona 800-591-9370.) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Long-Term Care Licensing 602-364-2690 (Long Term Care Licensing. Complaints can also be filed with the online complaint form for long-term care facilities.) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Arizona staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 035284. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.