Newton County, Arkansas · Nursing home
Countryside Health & Rehab of Newton County
3 of 5 overall from CMS
610 East Court Street, Jasper, AR 72641
At a glance
- Overall rating 3 of 5 Below the state average of 3.4
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 14 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 59.3% of 70 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Countryside Health & Rehab of Newton County is a 70-bed nursing home in Jasper, Arkansas (Newton County). CMS rates it 3 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 70
- Residents per day (average)
- 41.5
- Certified since
- 2023 (3 yrs)
For profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and Medicaid
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Countryside Health & Rehab of Newton County
Chosen from this home's public data.
- About 59.3% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 3 of 5 Arkansas average 3.4
- Health inspections 4 of 5 Arkansas average 3.2
- Staffing 1 of 5 Arkansas average 3.2
- Quality measures 2 of 5 Arkansas average 3.7
The vertical line marks the Arkansas average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported Arkansas average 4.02
- Nurse aides Not reported Arkansas average 2.67
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported Arkansas average 0.95
- Registered nurses Not reported Arkansas average 0.41
- All staff, weekends Not reported Arkansas average 3.45
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 7 hours. The vertical line marks the Arkansas average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Arkansas average49.5%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Arkansas average44.8%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Arkansas and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Arkansas | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 16.9% | 9.5% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 18.8% | 4.3% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 2.7% | 0.6% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.6% | 1.2% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 0.7% | 1.4% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 11.5% | 3.9% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 100.0% | 95.1% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 16.7% | 10.1% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 17.9% | 21.7% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 96.1% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 5.0% | 4.2% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 24.5% | 13.5% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 22.6% | 10.9% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 1.83 | 2.01 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 5.72 | 2.13 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Arkansas | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 98.0% | 82.0% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 4.3% | 1.3% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 77.7% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 27.4% | 24.1% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 16.7% | 12.5% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 14 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Jul 9, 2026 | 0 | 2 |
| Nov 15, 2024 | 7 | 0 |
| Oct 6, 2023 | 7 | 6 |
Arkansas homes averaged 2.7 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (14)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 15, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 15, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 15, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 15, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 15, 2024)
Show 9 more
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 15, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 15, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 1, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 1, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 1, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 1, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 1, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 1, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 1, 2023)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Arkansas homes averaged 0.5 fines and $9,209 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Arkansas
- Size217 of 221 by certified beds
- Arkansas average residents per day77.0
- ChainNone listed
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Newton County1
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Countryside Health & Rehab of Newton County?
Countryside Health & Rehab of Newton County has an overall rating of 3 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 4, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 2.
How many beds does Countryside Health & Rehab of Newton County have?
Countryside Health & Rehab of Newton County has 70 certified beds. It averages 41.5 residents per day, about 59.3% of its certified beds.
Has Countryside Health & Rehab of Newton County been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Countryside Health & Rehab of Newton County accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 4 of 5 Hillcrest Home 103beds 94.1%in use 5.13nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 The Springs of Mt Vista 154beds 57.1%in use 3.62nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 The Springs of Harrison 90beds 68.2%in use 3.59nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Newton County
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 045475. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.