Honolulu County, Hawaii · Nursing home
Daniel K Akaka State Veterans Home
Not rated
91-1204 Kealanani Ave, Kapolei, HI 96707
At a glance
- Overall rating Not rated
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 8 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use Not reported
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Daniel K Akaka State Veterans Home is a nursing home in Kapolei, Hawaii (Honolulu County). CMS has not published an overall star rating for it as of Sep 2026. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- –
- Residents per day (average)
- –
- Certified since
- 2025 (1 yrs)
Government - State Participates in Medicare and MedicaidPart of Hawaii Health Systems Corporation (7 homes)
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Daniel K Akaka State Veterans Home
Chosen from this home's public data.
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall Not rated Hawaii average 3.7
- Health inspections Not rated Hawaii average 3.0
- Staffing Not rated Hawaii average 4.4
- Quality measures Not rated Hawaii average 4.3
The vertical line marks the Hawaii average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported Hawaii average 4.97
- Nurse aides Not reported Hawaii average 2.88
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported Hawaii average 0.34
- Registered nurses Not reported Hawaii average 1.75
- All staff, weekends Not reported Hawaii average 4.41
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 13 hours. The vertical line marks the Hawaii average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Hawaii average36.4%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Hawaii average31.5%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Hawaii and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Hawaii | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 18.8% | 16.8% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 6.0% | 4.9% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.0% | 1.0% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 2.4% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 0.0% | 1.2% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.3% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 0.0% | 1.9% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 97.0% | 96.1% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 19.4% | 20.4% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 14.0% | 9.1% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 95.4% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 0.8% | 3.4% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 34.1% | 17.6% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 15.0% | 11.9% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.09 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.88 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Hawaii | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 75.3% | 82.7% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 4.8% | 1.4% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 84.7% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 19.4% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 10.3% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 8 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy. 4 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Apr 23, 2026 | 7 | 2 |
| – | 1 | – |
Hawaii homes averaged 9.5 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (8)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 25, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 25, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
Complaint investigation · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 25, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 25, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 25, 2026)
Show 3 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 25, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide or get specialized rehabilitative services as required for a resident.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 25, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has no plan of correction
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Hawaii homes averaged 0.7 fines and $19,339 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Hawaii
- Hawaii average residents per day81.9
- ChainHawaii Health Systems Corporation
- Chain average overall rating4.7 of 5
- Resident or family councilBoth
- Homes in Honolulu County27
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Daniel K Akaka State Veterans Home?
CMS has not published an overall star rating for Daniel K Akaka State Veterans Home as of Sep 2026.
Has Daniel K Akaka State Veterans Home been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Daniel K Akaka State Veterans Home accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 3 of 5 Ka Punawai Ola 120beds 82.8%in use 4.02nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Kulana Malama 33beds 101.5%in use 9.84nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Pearl City Post Acute 122beds 93.4%in use 6.15nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Honolulu County
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 125070. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.