Winnebago County, Illinois · Nursing home
Mercyhealth Javon Bea Hospital -Snf
4 of 5 overall from CMS
2400 N Rockton Ave, Rockford, IL 61103
At a glance
- Overall rating 4 of 5 Above the state average of 2.5
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 0 None listed by CMS
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use Not reported of 17 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Mercyhealth Javon Bea Hospital -Snf is a 17-bed nursing home in Rockford, Illinois (Winnebago County). CMS rates it 4 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 17
- Residents per day (average)
- –
- Certified since
- 2021 (5 yrs)
Non profit - Corporation Participates in MedicarePart of Mercyhealth System (3 homes)Located in a hospital
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Mercyhealth Javon Bea Hospital -Snf
Chosen from this home's public data.
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 4 of 5 Illinois average 2.5
- Health inspections 5 of 5 Illinois average 2.7
- Staffing 1 of 5 Illinois average 2.1
- Quality measures Not rated Illinois average 3.0
The vertical line marks the Illinois average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported Illinois average 3.45
- Nurse aides Not reported Illinois average 2.09
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported Illinois average 0.64
- Registered nurses Not reported Illinois average 0.72
- All staff, weekends Not reported Illinois average 3.07
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 8 hours. The vertical line marks the Illinois average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Illinois average44.5%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Illinois average41.8%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Illinois and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Illinois | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | Too few residents or stays to report | 13.4% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | Too few residents or stays to report | 6.3% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.9% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.5% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | Too few residents or stays to report | 54.2% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | Too few residents or stays to report | 3.1% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 90.3% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 14.3% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 18.3% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 91.8% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | Too few residents or stays to report | 4.8% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | Too few residents or stays to report | 20.6% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 21.7% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 2.02 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 2.22 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Illinois | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 69.7% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.2% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 63.1% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Data missing or not submitted | 26.1% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Data missing or not submitted | 13.9% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
CMS lists no health citations for this home in the three most recent inspection cycles.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Oct 2, 2024 | 0 | 1 |
| Oct 17, 2023 | 0 | 1 |
| Aug 17, 2022 | 0 | 0 |
Illinois homes averaged 12.6 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Illinois homes averaged 2.2 fines and $111,013 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Illinois
- Size665 of 666 by certified beds
- Illinois average residents per day95.4
- ChainMercyhealth System
- Chain average overall rating4.7 of 5
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Rockford12
- Homes in Winnebago County15
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Mercyhealth Javon Bea Hospital -Snf?
Mercyhealth Javon Bea Hospital -Snf has an overall rating of 4 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 5, staffing is 1 and quality measures is not published.
How many beds does Mercyhealth Javon Bea Hospital -Snf have?
Mercyhealth Javon Bea Hospital -Snf has 17 certified beds.
Has Mercyhealth Javon Bea Hospital -Snf been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Mercyhealth Javon Bea Hospital -Snf accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 3 of 5 Amberwood Care Centre 135beds 90.7%in use 3.23nurse hours a day
- 3 of 5 Willows Health Center 50beds 60.6%in use 5.21nurse hours a day
- 3 of 5 Rock River Health Care 130beds 57.4%in use 2.69nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Winnebago County
Who to call in Illinois
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Illinois.
- Long-term care ombudsman Illinois Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 1-800-252-8966 (Senior HelpLine) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Central Complaint Registry 1-800-252-4343 The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Illinois staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 146196. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.