Douglas County, Kansas · Nursing home
Lawrence Memorial Hospital SNF
3 of 5 overall from CMS
325 Maine Street, Lawrence, KS 66044
At a glance
- Overall rating 3 of 5 Below the state average of 3.1
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 9 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 83.6% of 14 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Lawrence Memorial Hospital SNF is a 14-bed nursing home in Lawrence, Kansas (Douglas County). CMS rates it 3 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 14
- Residents per day (average)
- 11.7
- Certified since
- 1985 (41 yrs)
Government - City Participates in Medicare
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Lawrence Memorial Hospital SNF
Chosen from this home's public data.
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 3 of 5 Kansas average 3.1
- Health inspections 3 of 5 Kansas average 2.9
- Staffing 1 of 5 Kansas average 3.5
- Quality measures 5 of 5 Kansas average 3.2
The vertical line marks the Kansas average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported Kansas average 4.07
- Nurse aides Not reported Kansas average 2.70
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported Kansas average 0.65
- Registered nurses Not reported Kansas average 0.71
- All staff, weekends Not reported Kansas average 3.60
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 8 hours. The vertical line marks the Kansas average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Kansas average48.1%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Kansas average42.0%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Kansas and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Kansas | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | Too few residents or stays to report | 17.9% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | Too few residents or stays to report | 4.9% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.6% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.9% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | Too few residents or stays to report | 6.5% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | Too few residents or stays to report | 4.3% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 92.1% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 16.2% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 23.2% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 95.5% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | Too few residents or stays to report | 4.4% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | Too few residents or stays to report | 22.6% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 18.1% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 1.80 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 2.13 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Kansas | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 99.6% | 76.1% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 1.2% | 1.9% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 96.5% | 73.8% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 18.6% | 22.4% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 12.1% | 11.5% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 9 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Oct 14, 2024 | 8 | 5 |
| Jun 21, 2023 | 1 | 3 |
| Dec 22, 2021 | 0 | 6 |
Kansas homes averaged 9.5 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (9)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Post a list of names, addresses, and telephone numbers of all pertinent State agencies and advocacy groups and a statement that the resident may file a complaint with the State Survey Agency.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 15, 2024)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 15, 2024)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Not require residents to give up Medicare or Medicaid benefits, or pay privately as a condition of admission; and must tell residents what care they do not provide.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 15, 2024)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Conduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 15, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 15, 2024)
Show 4 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 15, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 15, 2024)
-
CPotential for minimal harm, widespread
Allow residents to easily view the nursing home's survey results and communicate with advocate agencies.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 15, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 28, 2023)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Kansas homes averaged 1.1 fines and $20,430 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Kansas
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Lawrence Memorial Hospital SNF?
Lawrence Memorial Hospital SNF has an overall rating of 3 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 3, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 5.
How many beds does Lawrence Memorial Hospital SNF have?
Lawrence Memorial Hospital SNF has 14 certified beds. It averages 11.7 residents per day, about 83.6% of its certified beds.
Has Lawrence Memorial Hospital SNF been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Lawrence Memorial Hospital SNF accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 3 of 5 Lawrence Presbyterian Manor 40beds 93.8%in use 5.83nurse hours a day
- 1 of 5 Pioneer Ridge Retirement Community 76beds 78.2%in use 4.21nurse hours a day
- 1 of 5 Medicalodges Eudora 65beds 61.4%in use 3.84nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Douglas County
Who to call in Kansas
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Kansas.
- Long-term care ombudsman Kansas Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 877-662-8362 (Toll-free. Topeka office 785-296-3017. Monday-Friday, 8:30 am - 5:00 pm.) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home KDADS Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation Hotline (adult care home complaints) 800-842-0078 (Monday through Friday, 8 am to 5 pm, excluding holidays. Email KDADS.ComplaintHotline@ks.gov; fax 785-296-0256. Outside hotline hours KDADS directs callers to local law enforcement for abuse, neglect or exploitation complaints.) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Kansas staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 175151. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.