Seward County, Kansas · Nursing home
Southwest Medical Center SNF
3 of 5 overall from CMS
315 W 15th Street, Liberal, KS 67905
At a glance
- Overall rating 3 of 5 Below the state average of 3.1
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 15 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 15.6% of 18 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Southwest Medical Center SNF is a 18-bed nursing home in Liberal, Kansas (Seward County). CMS rates it 3 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 18
- Residents per day (average)
- 2.8
- Certified since
- 1987 (39 yrs)
Government - County Participates in MedicareLocated in a hospital
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Southwest Medical Center SNF
Chosen from this home's public data.
- About 15.6% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 3 of 5 Kansas average 3.1
- Health inspections 3 of 5 Kansas average 2.9
- Staffing Not rated Kansas average 3.5
- Quality measures 3 of 5 Kansas average 3.2
The vertical line marks the Kansas average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported Kansas average 4.07
- Nurse aides Not reported Kansas average 2.70
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported Kansas average 0.65
- Registered nurses Not reported Kansas average 0.71
- All staff, weekends Not reported Kansas average 3.60
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 8 hours. The vertical line marks the Kansas average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Kansas average48.1%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Kansas average42.0%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Kansas and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Kansas | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | Too few residents or stays to report | 17.9% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | Too few residents or stays to report | 4.9% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.6% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.9% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | Too few residents or stays to report | 6.5% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | Too few residents or stays to report | 4.3% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 92.1% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 16.2% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 23.2% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 95.5% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | Too few residents or stays to report | 4.4% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | Too few residents or stays to report | 22.6% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 18.1% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 1.80 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 2.13 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Kansas | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 94.4% | 76.1% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 1.9% | 1.9% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 73.8% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 20.1% | 22.4% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 11.6% | 11.5% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 15 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Apr 22, 2026 | 8 | 10 |
| Jun 12, 2024 | 7 | 8 |
| Jun 8, 2022 | 0 | 2 |
Kansas homes averaged 9.5 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (15)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 5, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 5, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 5, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 5, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Allow resident to participate in the development and implementation of his or her person-centered plan of care.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 2, 2026)
Show 10 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 5, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 5, 2026)
-
CPotential for minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 5, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 17, 2024)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Dispose of garbage and refuse properly.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 17, 2024)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 17, 2024)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Ensure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 17, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 17, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 17, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 17, 2024)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Kansas homes averaged 1.1 fines and $20,430 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Kansas
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Southwest Medical Center SNF?
Southwest Medical Center SNF has an overall rating of 3 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 3, staffing is not published and quality measures is 3.
How many beds does Southwest Medical Center SNF have?
Southwest Medical Center SNF has 18 certified beds. It averages 2.8 residents per day, about 15.6% of its certified beds.
Has Southwest Medical Center SNF been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Southwest Medical Center SNF accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 1 of 5 Wheatridge Park Care Center 51beds 79.4%in use 3.74nurse hours a day
- – not rated Good Samaritan-Liberal 45beds 80.7%in use 4.07nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 Stevens County Hospital Ltcu Dba Pioneer Manor 77beds 93.5%in use 4.68nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Seward County
Who to call in Kansas
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Kansas.
- Long-term care ombudsman Kansas Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 877-662-8362 (Toll-free. Topeka office 785-296-3017. Monday-Friday, 8:30 am - 5:00 pm.) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home KDADS Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation Hotline (adult care home complaints) 800-842-0078 (Monday through Friday, 8 am to 5 pm, excluding holidays. Email KDADS.ComplaintHotline@ks.gov; fax 785-296-0256. Outside hotline hours KDADS directs callers to local law enforcement for abuse, neglect or exploitation complaints.) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Kansas staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 175163. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.