Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana · Nursing home
Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF
4 of 5 overall from CMS
8166 Main Street, Houma, LA 70360
At a glance
- Overall rating 4 of 5 Above the state average of 2.6
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 10 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 38.3% of 6 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF is a 6-bed nursing home in Houma, Louisiana (Terrebonne Parish). CMS rates it 4 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 6
- Residents per day (average)
- 2.3
- Certified since
- 1985 (41 yrs)
Non profit - Other Participates in MedicareLocated in a hospital
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF
Chosen from this home's public data.
- About 38.3% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 4 of 5 Louisiana average 2.6
- Health inspections 5 of 5 Louisiana average 2.9
- Staffing Not rated Louisiana average 2.4
- Quality measures 1 of 5 Louisiana average 2.2
The vertical line marks the Louisiana average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported Louisiana average 3.76
- Nurse aides Not reported Louisiana average 2.27
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported Louisiana average 1.17
- Registered nurses Not reported Louisiana average 0.31
- All staff, weekends Not reported Louisiana average 3.21
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 12 hours. The vertical line marks the Louisiana average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Louisiana average47.6%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Louisiana average41.6%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Louisiana and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Louisiana | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | Too few residents or stays to report | 17.8% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | Too few residents or stays to report | 5.2% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.2% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.1% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.3% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.2% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | Too few residents or stays to report | 3.5% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 93.4% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 17.9% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 23.2% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 94.9% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | Too few residents or stays to report | 5.6% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | Too few residents or stays to report | 15.8% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 22.7% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 2.56 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 2.74 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Louisiana | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 98.3% | 85.9% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 4.4% | 3.1% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 97.1% | 76.3% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 23.7% | 28.0% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 13.4% | 14.8% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 10 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Feb 11, 2026 | 2 | 0 |
| Feb 5, 2025 | 3 | 0 |
| Feb 15, 2024 | 5 | 0 |
Louisiana homes averaged 6.4 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (10)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure that feeding tubes are not used unless there is a medical reason and the resident agrees; and provide appropriate care for a resident with a feeding tube.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 28, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 28, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 19, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Verify that a nurse aide has been trained; and if they haven't worked as a nurse aide for 2 years, receive retraining.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 7, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide behavior health training consistent with the requirements and as determined by a facility assessment.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 18, 2025)
Show 5 more
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 31, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Give their staff education on dementia care, and what abuse, neglect, and exploitation are; and how to report abuse, neglect, and exploitation.
Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 31, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 31, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 31, 2024)
-
BPotential for minimal harm, pattern
Allow residents to easily view the nursing home's survey results and communicate with advocate agencies.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 31, 2024)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Louisiana homes averaged 0.9 fines and $46,795 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Louisiana
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF?
Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF has an overall rating of 4 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 5, staffing is not published and quality measures is 1.
How many beds does Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF have?
Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF has 6 certified beds. It averages 2.3 residents per day, about 38.3% of its certified beds.
Has Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Terrebonne General Med Ctr SNF accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 4 of 5 The Oaks of Houma 120beds 95.4%in use 3.36nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Chateau Terrebonne Health Care Center 197beds 76.3%in use 3.34nurse hours a day
- 3 of 5 Heritage Manor of Houma 120beds 97.1%in use 3.37nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Terrebonne Parish
Who to call in Louisiana
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Louisiana.
- Long-term care ombudsman Louisiana Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 866-632-0922 (Toll-free (State Office). State Office direct line (225) 342-9723. Regional ombudsman coordinators are listed on the same page.) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Louisiana Department of Health, Health Standards Section (nursing home complaints) 888-810-1819 (Nursing home line. Complaints can also be sent by email to HSSComplaints@la.gov.) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Louisiana staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 195185. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.