Kent County, Maryland · Nursing home
Willow Brooke Ct Skilled Care Ctr at Heron Point
5 of 5 overall from CMS
501 Campus Avenue, Chestertown, MD 21620
At a glance
- Overall rating 5 of 5 Above the state average of 3.2
- Nurse time per resident, per day 4.75 hours Above the state average of 3.87
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 26 1 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $15,440 1 fine
- Certified beds in use 5.0% of 38 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Willow Brooke Ct Skilled Care Ctr at Heron Point is a 38-bed nursing home in Chestertown, Maryland (Kent County). CMS rates it 5 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 4.75 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, above the Maryland average of 3.87. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $15,440 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 38
- Residents per day (average)
- 1.9
- Certified since
- 1991 (35 yrs)
Non profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and MedicaidPart of Acts Retirement-Life Communities (27 homes)Continuing care retirement community
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Willow Brooke Ct Skilled Care Ctr at Heron Point
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 1 fine totaling $15,440 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- Reported nurse staffing is 4.12 hours per resident on weekends against 4.75 overall. Who covers Saturdays and Sundays?Weekend staffing in CMS data
- About 5.0% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 5 of 5 Maryland average 3.2
- Health inspections 5 of 5 Maryland average 2.9
- Staffing 5 of 5 Maryland average 3.2
- Quality measures Not rated Maryland average 3.9
The vertical line marks the Maryland average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 4.75 h Maryland average 3.87
- Nurse aides 2.22 h Maryland average 2.12
- Licensed practical nurses 0.77 h Maryland average 0.91
- Registered nurses 1.76 h Maryland average 0.84
- All staff, weekends 4.12 h Maryland average 3.47
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 10 hours. The vertical line marks the Maryland average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Maryland average40.2%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Maryland average38.7%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Maryland and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Maryland | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | Too few residents or stays to report | 20.4% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | Too few residents or stays to report | 5.4% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.5% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.5% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | Too few residents or stays to report | 22.8% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.4% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 92.6% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 22.2% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 16.7% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 96.6% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | Too few residents or stays to report | 5.9% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | Too few residents or stays to report | 25.0% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 13.8% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 1.33 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 1.20 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Maryland | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 100.0% | 79.1% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.1% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 80.6% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 21.0% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 9.8% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 26 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 1 was at the immediate jeopardy level; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 5 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Feb 23, 2024: Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Dec 11, 2025 | 1 | 4 |
| Feb 23, 2024 | 5 | 6 |
| Apr 9, 2019 | 20 | 4 |
Maryland homes averaged 17.0 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (26)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2026)
-
JImmediate jeopardy, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Past Non-Compliance (Jul 13, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 8, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 8, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 8, 2024)
Show 21 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 8, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 8, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 8, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 8, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Complaint investigation · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 8, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure each resident must receive and the facility must provide necessary behavioral health care and services.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 8, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 24, 2019)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Assure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 24, 2019)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 24, 2019)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 24, 2019)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide medically-related social services to help each resident achieve the highest possible quality of life.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 24, 2019)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 24, 2019)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Give the resident's representative the ability to exercise the resident's rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 24, 2019)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to and the facility must promote and facilitate resident self-determination through support of resident choice.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 24, 2019)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 24, 2019)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 24, 2019)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 24, 2019)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 24, 2019)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 24, 2019)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide routine and 24-hour emergency dental care for each resident.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 24, 2019)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 24, 2019)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Feb 23, 2024 | Fine | $15,440 |
Maryland homes averaged 0.6 fines and $21,934 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Maryland
- Size211 of 220 by certified beds
- Maryland average residents per day105.7
- ChainActs Retirement-Life Communities
- Chain average overall rating4.9 of 5
- Resident or family councilBoth
- Homes in Chestertown3
- Homes in Kent County3
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Willow Brooke Ct Skilled Care Ctr at Heron Point?
Willow Brooke Ct Skilled Care Ctr at Heron Point has an overall rating of 5 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 5, staffing is 5 and quality measures is not published.
How many beds does Willow Brooke Ct Skilled Care Ctr at Heron Point have?
Willow Brooke Ct Skilled Care Ctr at Heron Point has 38 certified beds. It averages 1.9 residents per day, about 5.0% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Willow Brooke Ct Skilled Care Ctr at Heron Point?
The home reports 4.75 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 1.76 hours from registered nurses. The Maryland average is 3.87 hours and 0.84 hours from registered nurses.
Has Willow Brooke Ct Skilled Care Ctr at Heron Point been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $15,440 in the past three years.
Does Willow Brooke Ct Skilled Care Ctr at Heron Point accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 1 of 5 Chestertown Nursing and Rehab 92beds 95.8%in use 3.38nurse hours a day
- 3 of 5 Resorts at Chester River Manor Corp 98beds 97.1%in use 3.56nurse hours a day
- 3 of 5 Complete Care at Corsica Hills LLC 120beds 92.5%in use 3.59nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Kent County
Who to call in Maryland
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Maryland.
- Long-term care ombudsman Maryland Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 800-243-3425 (Maryland Department of Aging toll-free line. The program page lists a local ombudsman office phone for each county and Baltimore City.) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Office of Health Care Quality (OHCQ), Long Term Care 877-402-8219 (Also (410) 402-8201. OHCQ says the best way to file is its Online Complaint Form.) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Maryland staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 215235. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.