Baltimore County, Maryland · Nursing home
Pickersgill Retirement Community
4 of 5 overall from CMS
615 Chestnut Avenue, Towson, MD 21204
At a glance
- Overall rating 4 of 5 Above the state average of 3.2
- Nurse time per resident, per day 5.43 hours Above the state average of 3.87
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 20 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 73.0% of 43 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Pickersgill Retirement Community is a 43-bed nursing home in Towson, Maryland (Baltimore County). CMS rates it 4 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 5.43 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, above the Maryland average of 3.87. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 43
- Residents per day (average)
- 31.4
- Certified since
- 1994 (32 yrs)
Non profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and Medicaid
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Pickersgill Retirement Community
Chosen from this home's public data.
- Reported nurse staffing is 3.85 hours per resident on weekends against 5.43 overall. Who covers Saturdays and Sundays?Weekend staffing in CMS data
- About 73.0% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 4 of 5 Maryland average 3.2
- Health inspections 4 of 5 Maryland average 2.9
- Staffing 4 of 5 Maryland average 3.2
- Quality measures 3 of 5 Maryland average 3.9
The vertical line marks the Maryland average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 5.43 h Maryland average 3.87
- Nurse aides 2.01 h Maryland average 2.12
- Licensed practical nurses 2.18 h Maryland average 0.91
- Registered nurses 1.24 h Maryland average 0.84
- All staff, weekends 3.85 h Maryland average 3.47
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 10 hours. The vertical line marks the Maryland average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Maryland average40.2%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Maryland average38.7%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Maryland and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Maryland | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 26.7% | 20.4% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 15.4% | 5.4% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.4% | 0.5% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 2.6% | 1.5% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 0.9% | 22.8% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 13.0% | 2.4% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 99.1% | 92.6% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 24.7% | 22.2% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 16.0% | 16.7% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 97.0% | 96.6% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 10.0% | 5.9% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 22.5% | 25.0% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 25.0% | 13.8% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 1.89 | 1.33 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 2.01 | 1.20 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Maryland | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 94.2% | 79.1% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.1% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 80.6% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 15.4% | 21.0% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 4.2% | 9.8% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 20 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy. 1 was cited in connection with a complaint investigation.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Apr 10, 2026 | 4 | 2 |
| Jan 31, 2025 | 12 | 3 |
| Feb 28, 2020 | 4 | 0 |
Maryland homes averaged 17.0 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (20)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 19, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Make sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
Complaint investigation · Environmental · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 19, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 19, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 19, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 14, 2025)
Show 15 more
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 14, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Keep residents' personal and medical records private and confidential.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 14, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 14, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 14, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 14, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 14, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Observe each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 14, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 14, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 14, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Regularly inspect all bed frames, mattresses, and bed rails (if any) for safety; and all bed rails and mattresses must attach safely to the bed frame.
Environmental · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 14, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 14, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 16, 2020)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 16, 2020)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 16, 2020)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 16, 2020)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Maryland homes averaged 0.6 fines and $21,934 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Maryland
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Pickersgill Retirement Community?
Pickersgill Retirement Community has an overall rating of 4 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 4, staffing is 4 and quality measures is 3.
How many beds does Pickersgill Retirement Community have?
Pickersgill Retirement Community has 43 certified beds. It averages 31.4 residents per day, about 73.0% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Pickersgill Retirement Community?
The home reports 5.43 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 1.24 hours from registered nurses. The Maryland average is 3.87 hours and 0.84 hours from registered nurses.
Has Pickersgill Retirement Community been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Pickersgill Retirement Community accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 5 of 5 Chestnut Grn Hlth Ctr Blakehur 49beds 76.5%in use 4.66nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 Autumn Lake Healthcare at Ruxton 179beds 90.8%in use 3.40nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 Orchard Hill Rehabilitation and Healthcare Center 139beds 87.5%in use 3.59nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Baltimore County
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 215259. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.