Montgomery County, Maryland · Nursing home
Maplewood Park Place
5 of 5 overall from CMS
9707 Old Georgetown Road, Bethesda, MD 20814
At a glance
- Overall rating 5 of 5 Above the state average of 3.2
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 5 1 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 56.1% of 31 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Maplewood Park Place is a 31-bed nursing home in Bethesda, Maryland (Montgomery County). CMS rates it 5 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 31
- Residents per day (average)
- 17.4
- Certified since
- 1996 (30 yrs)
For profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and MedicaidContinuing care retirement community
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Maplewood Park Place
Chosen from this home's public data.
- About 56.1% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 5 of 5 Maryland average 3.2
- Health inspections 5 of 5 Maryland average 2.9
- Staffing Not rated Maryland average 3.2
- Quality measures 5 of 5 Maryland average 3.9
The vertical line marks the Maryland average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported Maryland average 3.87
- Nurse aides Not reported Maryland average 2.12
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported Maryland average 0.91
- Registered nurses Not reported Maryland average 0.84
- All staff, weekends Not reported Maryland average 3.47
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 10 hours. The vertical line marks the Maryland average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Maryland average40.2%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Maryland average38.7%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Maryland and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Maryland | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 25.0% | 20.4% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 0.0% | 5.4% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.5% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 1.5% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 6.8% | 22.8% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 0.0% | 2.4% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 100.0% | 92.6% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 19.7% | 22.2% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 29.8% | 16.7% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 96.6% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 0.0% | 5.9% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 25.5% | 25.0% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 44.4% | 13.8% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.33 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.20 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Maryland | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 99.3% | 79.1% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 2.4% | 1.1% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 80.6% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 28.3% | 21.0% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 0.0% | 9.8% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 5 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 1 involved actual harm; the rest were graded as no actual harm. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Aug 2, 2019: Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Mar 10, 2025 | 3 | 6 |
| May 6, 2021 | 0 | 1 |
| Aug 2, 2019 | 2 | 1 |
Maryland homes averaged 17.0 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (5)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 12, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 12, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 12, 2025)
-
GActual harm, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 20, 2019)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 20, 2019)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Maryland homes averaged 0.6 fines and $21,934 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Maryland
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Maplewood Park Place?
Maplewood Park Place has an overall rating of 5 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 5, staffing is not published and quality measures is 5.
How many beds does Maplewood Park Place have?
Maplewood Park Place has 31 certified beds. It averages 17.4 residents per day, about 56.1% of its certified beds.
Has Maplewood Park Place been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Maplewood Park Place accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 3 of 5 Sterling Care Bethesda 200beds 89.8%in use 3.08nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Montcare at Bethesda 120beds 87.3%in use 3.32nurse hours a day
- 3 of 5 Carriage Hill Bethesda 108beds 96.9%in use 3.97nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Montgomery County
Who to call in Maryland
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Maryland.
- Long-term care ombudsman Maryland Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 800-243-3425 (Maryland Department of Aging toll-free line. The program page lists a local ombudsman office phone for each county and Baltimore City.) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Office of Health Care Quality (OHCQ), Long Term Care 877-402-8219 (Also (410) 402-8201. OHCQ says the best way to file is its Online Complaint Form.) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Maryland staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 215287. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.