Hennepin County, Minnesota · Nursing home
Hopkins Restorative Care Center
1 of 5 overall from CMS
725 Second Avenue South, Hopkins, MN 55343
At a glance
- Overall rating 1 of 5 Below the state average of 3.2
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 46 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 57.5% of 65 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Hopkins Restorative Care Center is a 65-bed nursing home in Hopkins, Minnesota (Hennepin County). CMS rates it 1 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 65
- Residents per day (average)
- 37.4
- Certified since
- 1985 (41 yrs)
For profit - Limited Liability company Participates in Medicare and MedicaidPart of North Shore Healthcare (59 homes)
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Hopkins Restorative Care Center
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS counts 12 health deficiencies in the latest inspection cycle (the standard inspection on Mar 12, 2026 plus complaint and infection-control inspections); the Minnesota average is 7.1. Which have been corrected?Inspection results in CMS data
- About 57.5% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 1 of 5 Minnesota average 3.2
- Health inspections 2 of 5 Minnesota average 2.8
- Staffing 1 of 5 Minnesota average 4.1
- Quality measures 3 of 5 Minnesota average 3.1
The vertical line marks the Minnesota average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported Minnesota average 4.19
- Nurse aides Not reported Minnesota average 2.52
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported Minnesota average 0.61
- Registered nurses Not reported Minnesota average 1.06
- All staff, weekends Not reported Minnesota average 3.71
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 10 hours. The vertical line marks the Minnesota average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Minnesota average42.2%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Minnesota average38.6%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Minnesota and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Minnesota | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 25.3% | 18.2% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 3.9% | 4.1% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.6% | 1.9% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 2.6% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 0.0% | 4.1% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 7.1% | 4.0% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 90.6% | 97.4% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 19.2% | 20.5% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 18.2% | 12.5% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 94.7% | 96.1% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 1.4% | 5.2% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 25.7% | 24.5% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 30.6% | 17.1% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.61 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.90 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Minnesota | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 60.8% | 88.1% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 4.5% | 1.9% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 59.5% | 82.7% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 23.5% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 14.8% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 46 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy. 13 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Mar 12, 2026 | 12 | 12 |
| Dec 16, 2024 | 21 | 16 |
| Mar 1, 2024 | 13 | 11 |
Minnesota homes averaged 7.1 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (46)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
Complaint investigation · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has no plan of correction
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 15, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Inform resident or representatives choice to enter into binding arbitration agreement and right to refuse.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 15, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide a neutral and fair arbitration process and agree to arbitrator and venue.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 15, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 15, 2026)
Show 25 more
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
Environmental · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 15, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 15, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 15, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 15, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 15, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Educate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 15, 2026)
-
CPotential for minimal harm, widespread
Post nurse staffing information every day.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 15, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
Complaint investigation · Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Observe each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
Complaint investigation · Environmental · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 15, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 7, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 15, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide activities to meet all resident's needs.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 16, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Keep all essential equipment working safely.
Environmental · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 13, 2025)
-
CPotential for minimal harm, widespread
The resident has the right to receive notices in a format and a language he or she understands.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2025)
Showing the 30 most recent of 46.
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Minnesota homes averaged 0.8 fines and $24,507 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Minnesota
- Size144 of 338 by certified beds
- Minnesota average residents per day60.3
- ChainNorth Shore Healthcare
- Chain average overall rating2.7 of 5
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Hennepin County54
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Hopkins Restorative Care Center?
Hopkins Restorative Care Center has an overall rating of 1 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 2, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 3.
How many beds does Hopkins Restorative Care Center have?
Hopkins Restorative Care Center has 65 certified beds. It averages 37.4 residents per day, about 57.5% of its certified beds.
Has Hopkins Restorative Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Hopkins Restorative Care Center accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 4 of 5 Chapel View Health Care Center 100beds 91.1%in use 4.31nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Sholom Home West 139beds 93.6%in use 5.39nurse hours a day
- 3 of 5 The Estates at St Louis Park LLC 145beds 93.2%in use 3.37nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Hennepin County
Who to call in Minnesota
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Minnesota.
- Long-term care ombudsman Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care (OOLTC) 1-800-657-3591 (Also 651-431-2555. Calls answered 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM, Monday to Friday. TDD/TTY: 711. Email MBA.OOLTC@state.mn.us; fax 651-431-7452.) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Office of Health Facility Complaints (OHFC) 651-201-4200 (Email: health.ohfc-complaints@state.mn.us. MDH directs suspected maltreatment of a vulnerable adult (abuse, neglect, financial exploitation, unexplained injury) to the Minnesota Adult Abuse Reporting Center (MAARC), 844-880-1574 (toll free).) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Minnesota staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 245293. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.