Ramsey County, Minnesota · Nursing home
New Brighton Care Center
3 of 5 overall from CMS
805 Sixth Avenue Northwest, New Brighton, MN 55112
At a glance
- Overall rating 3 of 5 Below the state average of 3.2
- Nurse time per resident, per day 4.24 hours Above the state average of 4.19
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 26 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 70.9% of 57 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
New Brighton Care Center is a 57-bed nursing home in New Brighton, Minnesota (Ramsey County). CMS rates it 3 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 4.24 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, above the Minnesota average of 4.19. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 57
- Residents per day (average)
- 40.4
- Certified since
- 1987 (39 yrs)
For profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and Medicaid
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask New Brighton Care Center
Chosen from this home's public data.
- About 70.9% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- Registered nurse time is 0.70 hours per resident per day; the Minnesota average is 1.06. Is an RN on site overnight?RN staffing in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 3 of 5 Minnesota average 3.2
- Health inspections 3 of 5 Minnesota average 2.8
- Staffing 3 of 5 Minnesota average 4.1
- Quality measures 2 of 5 Minnesota average 3.1
The vertical line marks the Minnesota average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 4.24 h Minnesota average 4.19
- Nurse aides 2.46 h Minnesota average 2.52
- Licensed practical nurses 1.08 h Minnesota average 0.61
- Registered nurses 0.70 h Minnesota average 1.06
- All staff, weekends 3.84 h Minnesota average 3.71
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 10 hours. The vertical line marks the Minnesota average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Minnesota average42.2%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Minnesota average38.6%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Minnesota and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Minnesota | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 32.4% | 18.2% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 6.5% | 4.1% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.8% | 1.9% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 2.2% | 2.6% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 0.9% | 4.1% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 3.0% | 4.0% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 97.8% | 97.4% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 35.6% | 20.5% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 12.9% | 12.5% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 96.1% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 10.2% | 5.2% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 26.2% | 24.5% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 18.4% | 17.1% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.61 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.90 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Minnesota | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 93.3% | 88.1% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 1.0% | 1.9% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 61.3% | 82.7% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 21.0% | 23.5% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 12.7% | 14.8% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 26 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy. 2 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Nov 20, 2025 | 5 | 7 |
| Oct 17, 2024 | 12 | 7 |
| Nov 22, 2023 | 9 | 17 |
Minnesota homes averaged 7.1 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (26)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Conduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 2, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Past Non-Compliance (Sep 30, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Give residents a notice of rights, rules, services and charges.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 2, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 2, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 2, 2026)
Show 21 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 30, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 30, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Post nurse staffing information every day.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 1, 2024)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 1, 2024)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Designate a qualified infection preventionist to be responsible for the infection prevent and control program in the nursing home.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 1, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 1, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 1, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 1, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 1, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 1, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 1, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 1, 2024)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 12, 2024)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
Environmental · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 12, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 3, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 3, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 3, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 3, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 3, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 3, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 3, 2024)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Minnesota homes averaged 0.8 fines and $24,507 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Minnesota
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for New Brighton Care Center?
New Brighton Care Center has an overall rating of 3 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 3, staffing is 3 and quality measures is 2.
How many beds does New Brighton Care Center have?
New Brighton Care Center has 57 certified beds. It averages 40.4 residents per day, about 70.9% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at New Brighton Care Center?
The home reports 4.24 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 0.70 hours from registered nurses. The Minnesota average is 4.19 hours and 1.06 hours from registered nurses.
Has New Brighton Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does New Brighton Care Center accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 1 of 5 The Villas at New Brighton 99beds 85.6%in use 3.64nurse hours a day
- 3 of 5 Benedictine Health Center Innsbruck 105beds 85.7%in use 4.23nurse hours a day
- 4 of 5 Presbyterian Homes of Arden Hills 128beds 97.5%in use 4.16nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Ramsey County
Who to call in Minnesota
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Minnesota.
- Long-term care ombudsman Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care (OOLTC) 1-800-657-3591 (Also 651-431-2555. Calls answered 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM, Monday to Friday. TDD/TTY: 711. Email MBA.OOLTC@state.mn.us; fax 651-431-7452.) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Office of Health Facility Complaints (OHFC) 651-201-4200 (Email: health.ohfc-complaints@state.mn.us. MDH directs suspected maltreatment of a vulnerable adult (abuse, neglect, financial exploitation, unexplained injury) to the Minnesota Adult Abuse Reporting Center (MAARC), 844-880-1574 (toll free).) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Minnesota staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 245421. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.