Otter Tail County, Minnesota · Nursing home
Lb Broen Home
2 of 5 overall from CMS
824 South Sheridan Street, Fergus Falls, MN 56537
At a glance
- Overall rating 2 of 5 Below the state average of 3.2
- Nurse time per resident, per day 3.89 hours Below the state average of 4.19
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 11 1 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $168,540 1 fine
- Certified beds in use 74.3% of 74 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Lb Broen Home is a 74-bed nursing home in Fergus Falls, Minnesota (Otter Tail County). CMS rates it 2 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 3.89 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, below the Minnesota average of 4.19. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $168,540 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 74
- Residents per day (average)
- 55.0
- Certified since
- 1987 (39 yrs)
Non profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and Medicaid
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Lb Broen Home
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 1 fine totaling $168,540 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- About 74.3% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- Registered nurse time is 0.69 hours per resident per day; the Minnesota average is 1.06. Is an RN on site overnight?RN staffing in CMS data
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 2 of 5 Minnesota average 3.2
- Health inspections 2 of 5 Minnesota average 2.8
- Staffing 3 of 5 Minnesota average 4.1
- Quality measures 2 of 5 Minnesota average 3.1
The vertical line marks the Minnesota average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 3.89 h Minnesota average 4.19
- Nurse aides 2.32 h Minnesota average 2.52
- Licensed practical nurses 0.89 h Minnesota average 0.61
- Registered nurses 0.69 h Minnesota average 1.06
- All staff, weekends 3.63 h Minnesota average 3.71
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 10 hours. The vertical line marks the Minnesota average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Minnesota average42.2%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Minnesota average38.6%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Minnesota and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Minnesota | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 14.0% | 18.2% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 5.3% | 4.1% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 2.0% | 1.9% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 3.2% | 2.6% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 2.8% | 4.1% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 6.3% | 4.0% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 100.0% | 97.4% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 17.9% | 20.5% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 6.4% | 12.5% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 96.1% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 4.9% | 5.2% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 18.8% | 24.5% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 16.1% | 17.1% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.61 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.90 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Minnesota | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 86.7% | 88.1% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.9% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 66.7% | 82.7% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 23.5% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 14.8% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 11 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 1 was at the immediate jeopardy level; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 3 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Jun 4, 2026: Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| May 19, 2026 | 2 | 4 |
| Jul 9, 2025 | 6 | 5 |
| Aug 28, 2024 | 3 | 4 |
Minnesota homes averaged 7.1 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (11)
-
JImmediate jeopardy, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 31, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 15, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 7, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 7, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 7, 2025)
Show 6 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 7, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 7, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Make sure that a working call system is available in each resident's bathroom and bathing area.
Environmental · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 7, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 26, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 10, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 10, 2023)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| May 19, 2026 | Fine | $168,540 |
| May 19, 2026 | Payment Denial | 21 days |
Minnesota homes averaged 0.8 fines and $24,507 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Minnesota
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Lb Broen Home?
Lb Broen Home has an overall rating of 2 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 2, staffing is 3 and quality measures is 2.
How many beds does Lb Broen Home have?
Lb Broen Home has 74 certified beds. It averages 55.0 residents per day, about 74.3% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Lb Broen Home?
The home reports 3.89 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 0.69 hours from registered nurses. The Minnesota average is 4.19 hours and 1.06 hours from registered nurses.
Has Lb Broen Home been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $168,540 in the past three years. It also lists 1 payment denial.
Does Lb Broen Home accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 5 of 5 Pioneer Care Center 105beds 86.9%in use 4.55nurse hours a day
- 4 of 5 Mn Veterans Home-Fergus Falls 85beds 89.1%in use 5.17nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Good Samaritan Society - Battle Lake 51beds 96.1%in use 3.62nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Otter Tail County
Who to call in Minnesota
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Minnesota.
- Long-term care ombudsman Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care (OOLTC) 1-800-657-3591 (Also 651-431-2555. Calls answered 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM, Monday to Friday. TDD/TTY: 711. Email MBA.OOLTC@state.mn.us; fax 651-431-7452.) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Office of Health Facility Complaints (OHFC) 651-201-4200 (Email: health.ohfc-complaints@state.mn.us. MDH directs suspected maltreatment of a vulnerable adult (abuse, neglect, financial exploitation, unexplained injury) to the Minnesota Adult Abuse Reporting Center (MAARC), 844-880-1574 (toll free).) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Minnesota staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 245453. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.