Pipestone County, Minnesota · Nursing home
Edgebrook Care Center
1 of 5 overall from CMS
505 Trosky Road West, Edgerton, MN 56128
At a glance
- Overall rating 1 of 5 Below the state average of 3.2
- Nurse time per resident, per day 2.45 hours Below the state average of 4.19
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 15 1 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 92.4% of 54 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Edgebrook Care Center is a 54-bed nursing home in Edgerton, Minnesota (Pipestone County). CMS rates it 1 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 2.45 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, below the Minnesota average of 4.19. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 54
- Residents per day (average)
- 49.9
- Certified since
- 1991 (35 yrs)
Non profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and MedicaidPart of Good Samaritan Society (92 homes)
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Edgebrook Care Center
Chosen from this home's public data.
- Registered nurse time is 0.52 hours per resident per day; the Minnesota average is 1.06. Is an RN on site overnight?RN staffing in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 1 of 5 Minnesota average 3.2
- Health inspections 2 of 5 Minnesota average 2.8
- Staffing 1 of 5 Minnesota average 4.1
- Quality measures 3 of 5 Minnesota average 3.1
The vertical line marks the Minnesota average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 2.45 h Minnesota average 4.19
- Nurse aides 1.70 h Minnesota average 2.52
- Licensed practical nurses 0.23 h Minnesota average 0.61
- Registered nurses 0.52 h Minnesota average 1.06
- All staff, weekends 2.46 h Minnesota average 3.71
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 10 hours. The vertical line marks the Minnesota average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Minnesota average42.2%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Minnesota average38.6%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Minnesota and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Minnesota | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 29.0% | 18.2% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 6.1% | 4.1% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.5% | 1.9% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.6% | 2.6% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 3.2% | 4.1% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 3.8% | 4.0% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 97.8% | 97.4% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 21.4% | 20.5% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 8.6% | 12.5% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 98.0% | 96.1% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 2.0% | 5.2% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 27.1% | 24.5% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 25.0% | 17.1% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 1.07 | 1.61 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 2.26 | 1.90 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Minnesota | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 69.0% | 88.1% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.9% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 82.7% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 23.5% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 14.8% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 15 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 1 was at the immediate jeopardy level; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 1 was cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Aug 22, 2025: Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Nov 19, 2025 | 6 | 5 |
| Oct 15, 2024 | 5 | 12 |
| Jan 24, 2024 | 4 | 2 |
Minnesota homes averaged 7.1 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (15)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 27, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 27, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Designate a qualified infection preventionist to be responsible for the infection prevent and control program in the nursing home.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 27, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 27, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 27, 2025)
Show 10 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 27, 2025)
-
JImmediate jeopardy, isolated
Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
Complaint investigation · Nutrition and Dietary · Past Non-Compliance (Aug 19, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 9, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 14, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 14, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 14, 2024)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 13, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 28, 2024)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Minnesota homes averaged 0.8 fines and $24,507 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Minnesota
- Size198 of 338 by certified beds
- Minnesota average residents per day60.3
- ChainGood Samaritan Society
- Chain average overall rating3.1 of 5
- Resident or family councilBoth
- Homes in Pipestone County2
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Edgebrook Care Center?
Edgebrook Care Center has an overall rating of 1 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 2, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 3.
How many beds does Edgebrook Care Center have?
Edgebrook Care Center has 54 certified beds. It averages 49.9 residents per day, about 92.4% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Edgebrook Care Center?
The home reports 2.45 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 0.52 hours from registered nurses. The Minnesota average is 4.19 hours and 1.06 hours from registered nurses.
Has Edgebrook Care Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Edgebrook Care Center accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 3 of 5 Good Samaritan Society - Pipestone 82beds 69.3%in use 3.70nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Mn Veterans Home-Luverne 85beds 70.7%in use 5.24nurse hours a day
- 1 of 5 Good Samaritan Society - Mary Jane Brown 51beds 90.6%in use 3.88nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Pipestone County
Who to call in Minnesota
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Minnesota.
- Long-term care ombudsman Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care (OOLTC) 1-800-657-3591 (Also 651-431-2555. Calls answered 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM, Monday to Friday. TDD/TTY: 711. Email MBA.OOLTC@state.mn.us; fax 651-431-7452.) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Office of Health Facility Complaints (OHFC) 651-201-4200 (Email: health.ohfc-complaints@state.mn.us. MDH directs suspected maltreatment of a vulnerable adult (abuse, neglect, financial exploitation, unexplained injury) to the Minnesota Adult Abuse Reporting Center (MAARC), 844-880-1574 (toll free).) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Minnesota staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 245560. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.