Iron County, Missouri · Nursing home
Baptist Homes of Arcadia Valley
3 of 5 overall from CMS
101 Riggs-Scott Lane, Ironton, MO 63650
At a glance
- Overall rating 3 of 5 Above the state average of 2.5
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 21 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 35.0% of 36 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Baptist Homes of Arcadia Valley is a 36-bed nursing home in Ironton, Missouri (Iron County). CMS rates it 3 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 36
- Residents per day (average)
- 12.6
- Certified since
- 2026 (0 yrs)
Non profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and MedicaidContinuing care retirement community
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Baptist Homes of Arcadia Valley
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS counts 13 health deficiencies in the latest inspection cycle (the standard inspection on Jun 17, 2026 plus complaint and infection-control inspections); the Missouri average is 11.4. Which have been corrected?Inspection results in CMS data
- About 35.0% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 3 of 5 Missouri average 2.5
- Health inspections 3 of 5 Missouri average 2.8
- Staffing Not rated Missouri average 2.2
- Quality measures 2 of 5 Missouri average 2.7
The vertical line marks the Missouri average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported Missouri average 3.43
- Nurse aides Not reported Missouri average 2.29
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported Missouri average 0.68
- Registered nurses Not reported Missouri average 0.46
- All staff, weekends Not reported Missouri average 3.01
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 10 hours. The vertical line marks the Missouri average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Missouri average56.0%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Missouri average47.8%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Missouri and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Missouri | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | Too few residents or stays to report | 18.1% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 6.4% | 5.3% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.0% | 1.1% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 2.3% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 0.0% | 18.5% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 5.5% | 4.1% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 41.8% | 84.1% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 17.4% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 28.6% | 25.6% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 78.6% | 90.9% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 2.3% | 4.5% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 25.2% | 17.8% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 22.4% | 23.5% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 1.45 | 2.11 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 3.84 | 2.33 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Missouri | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 65.7% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.2% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 63.5% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 26.0% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 13.7% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 21 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Jun 17, 2026 | 13 | 4 |
| Mar 7, 2025 | 8 | 2 |
Missouri homes averaged 11.4 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (21)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
Show 16 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Assure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Have a plan that describes the process for conducting QAPI and QAA activities.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 14, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Set up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 14, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Have the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 14, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 14, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 14, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 14, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 14, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 14, 2025)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Missouri homes averaged 0.8 fines and $37,425 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Missouri
- Size479 of 487 by certified beds
- Missouri average residents per day73.0
- ChainNone listed
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Iron County3
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Baptist Homes of Arcadia Valley?
Baptist Homes of Arcadia Valley has an overall rating of 3 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 3, staffing is not published and quality measures is 2.
How many beds does Baptist Homes of Arcadia Valley have?
Baptist Homes of Arcadia Valley has 36 certified beds. It averages 12.6 residents per day, about 35.0% of its certified beds.
Has Baptist Homes of Arcadia Valley been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Baptist Homes of Arcadia Valley accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 1 of 5 Belleview Valley Nursing Home 109beds 75.8%in use 2.72nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Southbrook Nursing Center 104beds 91.3%in use 3.66nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Madison Medical Center 99beds 60.7%in use 4.10nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Iron County
Who to call in Missouri
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Missouri.
- Long-term care ombudsman Missouri Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 800-309-3282 (Email: LTCOmbudsman@health.mo.gov) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Adult Abuse and Neglect Hotline (long-term care facility complaints) 1-800-392-0210 (7 days a week, 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Relay Missouri 1-800-735-2966. Reports can also be made online (moapss.health.mo.gov, linked from Health.Mo.Gov/abuse).) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Missouri staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 265891. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.