Dent County, Missouri · Nursing home
Salem Memorial District Hospital
3 of 5 overall from CMS
35629 Highway 72, Salem, MO 65560
At a glance
- Overall rating 3 of 5 Above the state average of 2.5
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 12 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $83,898 10 fines
- Certified beds in use 84.4% of 18 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Salem Memorial District Hospital is a 18-bed nursing home in Salem, Missouri (Dent County). CMS rates it 3 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists 10 fines totaling $83,898 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 18
- Residents per day (average)
- 15.2
- Certified since
- 1992 (34 yrs)
Non profit - Corporation Participates in MedicaidLocated in a hospital
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Salem Memorial District Hospital
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 10 fines totaling $83,898 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 3 of 5 Missouri average 2.5
- Health inspections 4 of 5 Missouri average 2.8
- Staffing 1 of 5 Missouri average 2.2
- Quality measures 4 of 5 Missouri average 2.7
The vertical line marks the Missouri average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported Missouri average 3.43
- Nurse aides Not reported Missouri average 2.29
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported Missouri average 0.68
- Registered nurses Not reported Missouri average 0.46
- All staff, weekends Not reported Missouri average 3.01
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 10 hours. The vertical line marks the Missouri average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Missouri average56.0%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Missouri average47.8%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Missouri and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Missouri | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 32.7% | 18.1% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 9.1% | 5.3% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.0% | 1.1% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 9.1% | 2.3% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 18.8% | 18.5% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 0.0% | 4.1% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 93.9% | 84.1% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 6.7% | 17.4% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 42.4% | 25.6% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 90.9% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 1.1% | 4.5% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 12.3% | 17.8% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 16.1% | 23.5% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.11 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.33 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Missouri | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 65.7% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.2% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 63.5% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Data missing or not submitted | 26.0% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Data missing or not submitted | 13.7% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 12 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Oct 16, 2025 | 3 | 0 |
| Sep 27, 2024 | 5 | 0 |
| Aug 22, 2023 | 4 | 0 |
Missouri homes averaged 11.4 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (12)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 30, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Employ sufficient staff with the appropriate competencies and skills sets to carry out the functions of the food and nutrition service, including a qualified dietician.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 30, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 30, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure services provided by the nursing facility meet professional standards of quality.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 11, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 11, 2024)
Show 7 more
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 11, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 11, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Set up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 11, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to voice grievances without discrimination or reprisal and the facility must establish a grievance policy and make prompt efforts to resolve grievances.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 1, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 1, 2023)
-
CPotential for minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 1, 2023)
-
CPotential for minimal harm, widespread
Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 1, 2023)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Feb 20, 2024 | Fine | $4,893 |
| Feb 12, 2024 | Fine | $4,893 |
| Jan 22, 2024 | Fine | $14,679 |
| Jan 8, 2024 | Fine | $4,893 |
| Jan 2, 2024 | Fine | $4,545 |
| Dec 11, 2023 | Fine | $13,635 |
| Nov 20, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
| Nov 13, 2023 | Fine | $4,545 |
| Oct 23, 2023 | Fine | $13,635 |
| Sep 25, 2023 | Fine | $13,635 |
Missouri homes averaged 0.8 fines and $37,425 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Missouri
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Salem Memorial District Hospital?
Salem Memorial District Hospital has an overall rating of 3 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 4, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 4.
How many beds does Salem Memorial District Hospital have?
Salem Memorial District Hospital has 18 certified beds. It averages 15.2 residents per day, about 84.4% of its certified beds.
Has Salem Memorial District Hospital been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 10 fines totaling $83,898 in the past three years.
Does Salem Memorial District Hospital accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 1 of 5 Seville Care Center 90beds 50.4%in use 3.95nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 Salem Care Center 60beds 72.3%in use 3.25nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 Hickory Manor 60beds 61.8%in use 3.70nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Dent County
Who to call in Missouri
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Missouri.
- Long-term care ombudsman Missouri Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 800-309-3282 (Email: LTCOmbudsman@health.mo.gov) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Adult Abuse and Neglect Hotline (long-term care facility complaints) 1-800-392-0210 (7 days a week, 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Relay Missouri 1-800-735-2966. Reports can also be made online (moapss.health.mo.gov, linked from Health.Mo.Gov/abuse).) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Missouri staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 26A381. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.