Hudson County, New Jersey · Nursing home
Bayonne University Hospital
5 of 5 overall from CMS
29 East 29th Street, Bayonne, NJ 07002
At a glance
- Overall rating 5 of 5 Above the state average of 3.3
- Nurse time per resident, per day 7.89 hours Above the state average of 3.85
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 3 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 65.9% of 17 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Bayonne University Hospital is a 17-bed nursing home in Bayonne, New Jersey (Hudson County). CMS rates it 5 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 7.89 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, above the New Jersey average of 3.85. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 17
- Residents per day (average)
- 11.2
- Certified since
- 2025 (1 yrs)
For profit - Limited Liability company Participates in MedicareLocated in a hospital
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Bayonne University Hospital
Chosen from this home's public data.
- About 65.9% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 5 of 5 New Jersey average 3.3
- Health inspections 5 of 5 New Jersey average 2.8
- Staffing 5 of 5 New Jersey average 3.1
- Quality measures 3 of 5 New Jersey average 4.4
The vertical line marks the New Jersey average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 7.89 h New Jersey average 3.85
- Nurse aides 3.21 h New Jersey average 2.23
- Licensed practical nurses 1.16 h New Jersey average 0.93
- Registered nurses 3.52 h New Jersey average 0.68
- All staff, weekends 7.56 h New Jersey average 3.50
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 11 hours. The vertical line marks the New Jersey average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- New Jersey average39.7%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- New Jersey average37.7%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the New Jersey and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | New Jersey | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | Too few residents or stays to report | 8.7% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | Too few residents or stays to report | 4.6% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.6% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.8% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | Too few residents or stays to report | 12.1% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.3% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 93.0% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 8.2% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 18.8% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 97.2% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | Too few residents or stays to report | 5.4% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | Too few residents or stays to report | 15.6% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 12.7% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 2.07 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 1.11 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | New Jersey | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 99.8% | 79.0% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 1.9% | 1.2% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 80.1% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 26.5% | 24.9% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 3.7% | 8.1% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 3 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 9, 2025 | 3 | 7 |
| Jan 16, 2024 | 0 | 1 |
New Jersey homes averaged 8.6 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (3)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 15, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 15, 2025)
-
BPotential for minimal harm, pattern
Post nurse staffing information every day.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 15, 2025)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
New Jersey homes averaged 0.7 fines and $34,926 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within New Jersey
- Size347 of 348 by certified beds
- New Jersey average residents per day122.4
- ChainNone listed
- Resident or family councilNone
- Homes in Hudson County15
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Bayonne University Hospital?
Bayonne University Hospital has an overall rating of 5 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 5, staffing is 5 and quality measures is 3.
How many beds does Bayonne University Hospital have?
Bayonne University Hospital has 17 certified beds. It averages 11.2 residents per day, about 65.9% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Bayonne University Hospital?
The home reports 7.89 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 3.52 hours from registered nurses. The New Jersey average is 3.85 hours and 0.68 hours from registered nurses.
Has Bayonne University Hospital been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Bayonne University Hospital accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 5 of 5 Staten Island Care Center 300beds 97.3%in use 2.70nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 Peace Care St Ann's 120beds 93.3%in use 3.91nurse hours a day
- 1 of 5 Silver Lake Specialized Rehabilitation and Care Ce 278beds 67.7%in use 4.09nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Hudson County
Who to call in New Jersey
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in New Jersey.
- Long-term care ombudsman New Jersey Long-Term Care Ombudsman 1-877-582-6995 (Fax 1-609-943-3479. Email: ombudsman@ltco.nj.gov. Mail: P.O. Box 852, Trenton, NJ 08625-0852.) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Department of Health Complaint Hotline 1-800-792-9770 (24-hour hotline, seven days a week; complaints may be made by phone without giving a name. Long-term care complaints can also be faxed to 609-943-4977 (reviewed during business hours), submitted online (web.doh.nj.gov/fc/search.aspx), or mailed to NJ Department of Health, PO Box 367, Trenton, NJ 08625-0367.) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
New Jersey staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 315532. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.