Mecklenburg County, North Carolina · Nursing home
Briar Creek Health Center
4 of 5 overall from CMS
6041 Piedmont Row Drive, Charlotte, NC 28210
At a glance
- Overall rating 4 of 5 Above the state average of 2.9
- Nurse time per resident, per day 10.64 hours Above the state average of 3.85
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 8 2 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $8,606 1 fine
- Certified beds in use 76.7% of 6 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Briar Creek Health Center is a 6-bed nursing home in Charlotte, North Carolina (Mecklenburg County). CMS rates it 4 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 10.64 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, above the North Carolina average of 3.85. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $8,606 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 6
- Residents per day (average)
- 4.6
- Certified since
- 2021 (5 yrs)
For profit - Corporation Participates in MedicarePart of Liberty Senior Living (37 homes)Continuing care retirement community
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Briar Creek Health Center
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 1 fine totaling $8,606 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 4 of 5 North Carolina average 2.9
- Health inspections 4 of 5 North Carolina average 2.9
- Staffing 4 of 5 North Carolina average 2.7
- Quality measures 4 of 5 North Carolina average 3.3
The vertical line marks the North Carolina average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 10.64 h North Carolina average 3.85
- Nurse aides 3.26 h North Carolina average 2.34
- Licensed practical nurses 4.36 h North Carolina average 0.89
- Registered nurses 3.02 h North Carolina average 0.62
- All staff, weekends 9.84 h North Carolina average 3.42
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 13 hours. The vertical line marks the North Carolina average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- North Carolina average49.0%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- North Carolina average45.6%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the North Carolina and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | North Carolina | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | Too few residents or stays to report | 15.6% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | Too few residents or stays to report | 7.2% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.7% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.3% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | Too few residents or stays to report | 5.9% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | Too few residents or stays to report | 3.5% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 92.0% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 18.3% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 21.3% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 94.1% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | Too few residents or stays to report | 5.5% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | Too few residents or stays to report | 20.7% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 14.0% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 1.78 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 1.80 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | North Carolina | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 95.0% | 80.6% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 3.2% | 1.4% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 87.1% | 78.1% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 14.0% | 22.9% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 9.5% | 12.9% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 8 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 2 involved actual harm; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 2 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Mar 7, 2024: Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| May 19, 2026 | 0 | 3 |
| May 6, 2025 | 3 | 0 |
| Mar 7, 2024 | 5 | 3 |
North Carolina homes averaged 4.7 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (8)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 4, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 4, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Complaint investigation · Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 6, 2025)
-
GActual harm, isolated
Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 22, 2024)
-
GActual harm, isolated
Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
Complaint investigation · Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 22, 2024)
Show 3 more
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 22, 2024)
-
BPotential for minimal harm, pattern
Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has plan of correction (Mar 22, 2024)
-
BPotential for minimal harm, pattern
Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has plan of correction (Mar 22, 2024)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Mar 7, 2024 | Fine | $8,606 |
North Carolina homes averaged 1.2 fines and $36,617 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within North Carolina
- Size418 of 419 by certified beds
- North Carolina average residents per day86.9
- ChainLiberty Senior Living
- Chain average overall rating2.8 of 5
- Resident or family councilNone
- Homes in Charlotte20
- Homes in Mecklenburg County29
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Briar Creek Health Center?
Briar Creek Health Center has an overall rating of 4 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 4, staffing is 4 and quality measures is 4.
How many beds does Briar Creek Health Center have?
Briar Creek Health Center has 6 certified beds. It averages 4.6 residents per day, about 76.7% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Briar Creek Health Center?
The home reports 10.64 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 3.02 hours from registered nurses. The North Carolina average is 3.85 hours and 0.62 hours from registered nurses.
Has Briar Creek Health Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $8,606 in the past three years.
Does Briar Creek Health Center accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 4 of 5 The Sharon at Southpark 19beds 36.3%in use 12.56nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 The Stewart Health Center 65beds 87.4%in use 5.50nurse hours a day
- 3 of 5 Sardis Oaks 124beds 71.5%in use 3.21nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Mecklenburg County
Who to call in North Carolina
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in North Carolina.
- Long-term care ombudsman North Carolina Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 919-855-3400 (Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman, Raleigh. Regional ombudsmen (16 offices in Area Agencies on Aging) are listed by county in a document linked from the program page.) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Complaint Intake Unit (Complaint Hotline) 1-800-624-3004 (Within N.C.; or 919-855-4500. Hours: 9 a.m.-12 p.m. and 1-4 p.m. weekdays, except holidays. Also by fax (919-715-7724), mail (Complaint Intake Unit, 2711 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2711) or email; a printable complaint form is on the page.) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
North Carolina staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 345578. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.