Muskogee County, Oklahoma · Nursing home
Muskogee Nursing Center
1 of 5 overall from CMS
602 North M Street, Muskogee, OK 74403
At a glance
- Overall rating 1 of 5 Below the state average of 2.7
- Nurse time per resident, per day 3.16 hours Below the state average of 3.79
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 12 1 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $52,135 6 fines
- Certified beds in use 63.4% of 58 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Muskogee Nursing Center is a 58-bed nursing home in Muskogee, Oklahoma (Muskogee County). CMS rates it 1 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 3.16 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, below the Oklahoma average of 3.79. CMS lists 6 fines totaling $52,135 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 58
- Residents per day (average)
- 36.8
- Certified since
- 1999 (27 yrs)
For profit - Individual Participates in Medicare and Medicaid
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Muskogee Nursing Center
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 6 fines totaling $52,135 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- CMS counts 8 health deficiencies in the latest inspection cycle (the standard inspection on Jan 8, 2025 plus complaint and infection-control inspections); the Oklahoma average is 6.4. Which have been corrected?Inspection results in CMS data
- About 63.4% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 1 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.7
- Health inspections 1 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.8
- Staffing 2 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.6
- Quality measures 2 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.8
The vertical line marks the Oklahoma average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 3.16 h Oklahoma average 3.79
- Nurse aides 2.25 h Oklahoma average 2.54
- Licensed practical nurses 0.69 h Oklahoma average 0.92
- Registered nurses 0.22 h Oklahoma average 0.34
- All staff, weekends 3.13 h Oklahoma average 3.44
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 7 hours. The vertical line marks the Oklahoma average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Oklahoma average55.5%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Oklahoma average53.6%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Oklahoma and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Oklahoma | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 14.0% | 13.6% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 0.0% | 3.3% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 1.9% | 1.9% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 2.6% | 2.8% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 0.9% | 3.4% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 0.0% | 4.7% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 100.0% | 91.0% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 11.9% | 13.7% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 41.3% | 25.7% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 94.6% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 7.5% | 4.7% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 20.2% | 17.1% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 38.6% | 17.5% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 2.56 | 2.31 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 2.96 | 2.96 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Oklahoma | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 75.8% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.8% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 74.1% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 27.3% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 16.6% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 12 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 1 was at the immediate jeopardy level; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 6 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Mar 10, 2026: Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Jan 8, 2025 | 8 | 0 |
| Nov 16, 2023 | 2 | 2 |
| Oct 29, 2022 | 2 | 2 |
Oklahoma homes averaged 6.4 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (12)
-
JImmediate jeopardy, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 9, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 22, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 22, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.
Complaint investigation · Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 22, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Complaint investigation · Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 22, 2025)
Show 7 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 22, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide timely, quality laboratory services/tests to meet the needs of residents.
Complaint investigation · Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 22, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Have a plan that describes the process for conducting QAPI and QAA activities.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 22, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 14, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 14, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 9, 2022)
-
CPotential for minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 9, 2022)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Mar 10, 2026 | Fine | $14,069 |
| Jan 8, 2024 | Fine | $4,938 |
| Jan 2, 2024 | Fine | $4,545 |
| Dec 11, 2023 | Fine | $13,762 |
| Nov 20, 2023 | Fine | $4,235 |
| Oct 30, 2023 | Fine | $10,586 |
Oklahoma homes averaged 0.9 fines and $18,268 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Oklahoma
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Muskogee Nursing Center?
Muskogee Nursing Center has an overall rating of 1 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 1, staffing is 2 and quality measures is 2.
How many beds does Muskogee Nursing Center have?
Muskogee Nursing Center has 58 certified beds. It averages 36.8 residents per day, about 63.4% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Muskogee Nursing Center?
The home reports 3.16 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 0.22 hours from registered nurses. The Oklahoma average is 3.79 hours and 0.34 hours from registered nurses.
Has Muskogee Nursing Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 6 fines totaling $52,135 in the past three years.
Does Muskogee Nursing Center accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 1 of 5 Broadway Care & Rehab Center 105beds 78.1%in use 3.93nurse hours a day
- 1 of 5 Heartway at York Manor Health and Rehab 60beds 65.5%in use 3.21nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 Pleasant Valley Health Care Center 101beds 77.4%in use 4.12nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Muskogee County
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 375376. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.