Garvin County, Oklahoma · Nursing home
Pauls Valley Care Center
2 of 5 overall from CMS
1413 South Chickasaw Street, Pauls Valley, OK 73075
At a glance
- Overall rating 2 of 5 Below the state average of 2.7
- Nurse time per resident, per day 2.87 hours Below the state average of 3.79
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 15 1 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $50,778 1 fine
- Certified beds in use 51.4% of 71 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Pauls Valley Care Center is a 71-bed nursing home in Pauls Valley, Oklahoma (Garvin County). CMS rates it 2 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 2.87 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, below the Oklahoma average of 3.79. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $50,778 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 71
- Residents per day (average)
- 36.5
- Certified since
- 2004 (22 yrs)
For profit - Limited Liability company Participates in Medicare and Medicaid
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Pauls Valley Care Center
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 1 fine totaling $50,778 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- About 51.4% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- Registered nurse time is 0.23 hours per resident per day; the Oklahoma average is 0.34. Is an RN on site overnight?RN staffing in CMS data
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 2 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.7
- Health inspections 3 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.8
- Staffing 1 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.6
- Quality measures 2 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.8
The vertical line marks the Oklahoma average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 2.87 h Oklahoma average 3.79
- Nurse aides 1.82 h Oklahoma average 2.54
- Licensed practical nurses 0.82 h Oklahoma average 0.92
- Registered nurses 0.23 h Oklahoma average 0.34
- All staff, weekends 2.67 h Oklahoma average 3.44
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 7 hours. The vertical line marks the Oklahoma average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Oklahoma average55.5%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Oklahoma average53.6%
- Administrators who left1
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Oklahoma and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Oklahoma | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 25.0% | 13.6% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 0.0% | 3.3% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 1.4% | 1.9% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 2.8% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 3.4% | 3.4% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 14.9% | 4.7% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 93.3% | 91.0% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 12.9% | 13.7% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 58.8% | 25.7% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 86.7% | 94.6% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.7% | 4.7% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 17.5% | 17.1% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 32.9% | 17.5% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 3.81 | 2.31 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 1.78 | 2.96 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Oklahoma | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 96.9% | 75.8% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.8% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 16.7% | 74.1% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 27.3% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 16.6% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 15 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 1 involved actual harm; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 4 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Dec 18, 2025: Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Dec 18, 2025 | 5 | 8 |
| Apr 18, 2024 | 6 | 4 |
| Mar 10, 2023 | 4 | 4 |
Oklahoma homes averaged 6.4 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (15)
-
GActual harm, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure the transfer/discharge meets the resident's needs/preferences and that the resident is prepared for a safe transfer/discharge.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 10, 2026)
Show 10 more
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Assure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 8, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Complaint investigation · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 10, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 10, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 10, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 10, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Plan the resident's discharge to meet the resident's goals and needs.
Complaint investigation · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 10, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 7, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 7, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 7, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 7, 2023)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Dec 18, 2025 | Payment Denial | 3 days |
| Apr 18, 2024 | Fine | $50,778 |
| Apr 18, 2024 | Payment Denial | 28 days |
Oklahoma homes averaged 0.9 fines and $18,268 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Oklahoma
- Size206 of 283 by certified beds
- Oklahoma average residents per day61.2
- ChainNone listed
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Garvin County3
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Pauls Valley Care Center?
Pauls Valley Care Center has an overall rating of 2 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 3, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 2.
How many beds does Pauls Valley Care Center have?
Pauls Valley Care Center has 71 certified beds. It averages 36.5 residents per day, about 51.4% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Pauls Valley Care Center?
The home reports 2.87 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 0.23 hours from registered nurses. The Oklahoma average is 3.79 hours and 0.34 hours from registered nurses.
Has Pauls Valley Care Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $50,778 in the past three years. It also lists 2 payment denials.
Does Pauls Valley Care Center accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 4 of 5 Washita Valley Living Center 109beds 29.1%in use 5.10nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 Burford Manor 73beds 64.2%in use 3.80nurse hours a day
- 1 of 5 Callaway Nursing Home 86beds 39.9%in use –nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Garvin County
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 375463. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.