Grady County, Oklahoma · Nursing home
Chickasha Nursing Center, Inc
1 of 5 overall from CMS
2701 South 9th Street, Chickasha, OK 73018
At a glance
- Overall rating 1 of 5 Below the state average of 2.7
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 27 2 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $16,355 1 fine
- Certified beds in use 45.0% of 60 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Chickasha Nursing Center, Inc is a 60-bed nursing home in Chickasha, Oklahoma (Grady County). CMS rates it 1 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $16,355 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 60
- Residents per day (average)
- 27.0
- Certified since
- 2010 (16 yrs)
For profit - Individual Participates in Medicare and MedicaidCMS Special Focus: SFF Candidate
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
- Special Focus candidate. CMS lists this home as a candidate for its Special Focus Facility program: its inspection record qualifies it for the program, but it has not been selected. What a Special Focus Facility is
These labels are shown as CMS publishes them. They describe the inspection record, not what has changed since.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Chickasha Nursing Center, Inc
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists this home as a candidate for its Special Focus Facility program, which means it qualifies but has not been selected. What has changed since the inspections behind that listing?Special Focus status in CMS data
- CMS lists 1 fine totaling $16,355 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- CMS counts 12 health deficiencies in the latest inspection cycle (the standard inspection on Jun 10, 2026 plus complaint and infection-control inspections); the Oklahoma average is 6.4. Which have been corrected?Inspection results in CMS data
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 1 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.7
- Health inspections 1 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.8
- Staffing 1 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.6
- Quality measures 2 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.8
The vertical line marks the Oklahoma average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported Oklahoma average 3.79
- Nurse aides Not reported Oklahoma average 2.54
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported Oklahoma average 0.92
- Registered nurses Not reported Oklahoma average 0.34
- All staff, weekends Not reported Oklahoma average 3.44
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 7 hours. The vertical line marks the Oklahoma average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Oklahoma average55.5%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Oklahoma average53.6%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Oklahoma and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Oklahoma | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 3.0% | 13.6% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 17.9% | 3.3% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 4.0% | 1.9% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 9.3% | 2.8% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 0.0% | 3.4% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 6.7% | 4.7% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 100.0% | 91.0% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 3.6% | 13.7% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 31.0% | 25.7% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 96.6% | 94.6% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 6.1% | 4.7% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 24.3% | 17.1% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 16.1% | 17.5% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 3.29 | 2.31 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 6.61 | 2.96 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Oklahoma | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 75.4% | 75.8% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.8% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 74.1% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 42.8% | 27.3% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 12.0% | 16.6% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 27 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 2 were at the immediate jeopardy level; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 5 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Jun 10, 2026: Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Jun 10, 2026 | 12 | 1 |
| Sep 6, 2024 | 8 | 2 |
| Aug 10, 2023 | 7 | 2 |
Oklahoma homes averaged 6.4 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (27)
-
JImmediate jeopardy, isolated
Develop and implement policies and procedures to prevent abuse, neglect, and theft.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 11, 2026)
-
JImmediate jeopardy, isolated
Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 11, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Administer the facility in a manner that enables it to use its resources effectively and efficiently.
Complaint investigation · Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 11, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Establish a governing body that is legally responsible for establishing and implementing policies for managing and operating the facility and appoints a properly licensed administrator responsible for managing the facility.
Complaint investigation · Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 11, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Conduct and document a facility-wide assessment to determine what resources are necessary to care for residents competently during both day-to-day operations (including nights and weekends) and emergencies.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 11, 2026)
Show 22 more
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 11, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Develop, implement, and/or maintain an effective training program for all new and existing staff members.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 11, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Conduct mandatory training, for all staff, on the facility’s Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement Program.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 11, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Have the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 11, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Assure that each resident’s assessment is updated at least once every 3 months.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 11, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 11, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Complaint investigation · Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 11, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 25, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 18, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Observe each nurse aide's job performance and give regular training.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 11, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 18, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 17, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 11, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 11, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 11, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 30, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 30, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Post nurse staffing information every day.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 27, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 27, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 30, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 30, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 27, 2023)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Jun 10, 2026 | Fine | $16,355 |
| Jun 10, 2026 | Payment Denial | 27 days |
| Sep 6, 2024 | Payment Denial | 42 days |
Oklahoma homes averaged 0.9 fines and $18,268 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Oklahoma
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Chickasha Nursing Center, Inc?
Chickasha Nursing Center, Inc has an overall rating of 1 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 1, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 2.
How many beds does Chickasha Nursing Center, Inc have?
Chickasha Nursing Center, Inc has 60 certified beds. It averages 27.0 residents per day, about 45.0% of its certified beds.
Has Chickasha Nursing Center, Inc been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $16,355 in the past three years. It also lists 2 payment denials.
Does Chickasha Nursing Center, Inc accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 3 of 5 Shanoan Springs Nursing and Rehabilitation 82beds 62.9%in use 4.09nurse hours a day
- 4 of 5 Cottonwood Creek Skilled Nursing & Therapy 120beds 56.9%in use 3.81nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 Glenhaven Retirement Village 120beds 59.3%in use 4.64nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Grady County
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 375541. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.