Multnomah County, Oregon · Nursing home
Rose City Nursing and Rehabilitation
3 of 5 overall from CMS
11325 NE Weidler Street, Portland, OR 97220
At a glance
- Overall rating 3 of 5 Below the state average of 3.1
- Nurse time per resident, per day 5.30 hours Above the state average of 5.03
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 31 1 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 93.5% of 55 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Rose City Nursing and Rehabilitation is a 55-bed nursing home in Portland, Oregon (Multnomah County). CMS rates it 3 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 5.30 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, above the Oregon average of 5.03. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 55
- Residents per day (average)
- 51.4
- Certified since
- 1975 (51 yrs)
For profit - Limited Liability company Participates in Medicaid
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Rose City Nursing and Rehabilitation
Chosen from this home's public data.
- Registered nurse time is 0.65 hours per resident per day; the Oregon average is 0.72. Is an RN on site overnight?RN staffing in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 3 of 5 Oregon average 3.1
- Health inspections 3 of 5 Oregon average 2.8
- Staffing 4 of 5 Oregon average 3.9
- Quality measures 3 of 5 Oregon average 3.5
The vertical line marks the Oregon average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 5.30 h Oregon average 5.03
- Nurse aides 3.79 h Oregon average 3.40
- Licensed practical nurses 0.86 h Oregon average 0.91
- Registered nurses 0.65 h Oregon average 0.72
- All staff, weekends 4.95 h Oregon average 4.51
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 11 hours. The vertical line marks the Oregon average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Oregon average47.4%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Oregon average51.6%
- Administrators who left1
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Oregon and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Oregon | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 21.1% | 14.9% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 1.1% | 4.7% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 1.4% | 1.4% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 2.0% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 6.6% | 4.9% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 2.9% | 2.4% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 97.1% | 95.2% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 11.3% | 20.6% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 10.1% | 12.4% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 95.2% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 5.0% | 5.8% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 23.0% | 21.8% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 24.6% | 13.9% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.48 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.35 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Oregon | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 73.7% | 85.6% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.4% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 81.2% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 21.4% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 16.1% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 31 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 1 involved actual harm; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 17 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Mar 8, 2024: Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Jun 26, 2026 | 5 | 2 |
| Feb 26, 2025 | 9 | 5 |
| Oct 20, 2023 | 17 | 2 |
Oregon homes averaged 9.2 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (31)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Post a list of names, addresses, and telephone numbers of all pertinent State agencies and advocacy groups and a statement that the resident may file a complaint with the State Survey Agency.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide care or services that was trauma informed and/or culturally competent.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
-
CPotential for minimal harm, widespread
Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 29, 2026)
Show 25 more
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 2, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 2, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide activities to meet all resident's needs.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 2, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure the activities program is directed by a qualified professional.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 2, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 2, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 2, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 2, 2025)
-
BPotential for minimal harm, pattern
Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 2, 2025)
-
BPotential for minimal harm, pattern
Post nurse staffing information every day.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 2, 2025)
-
GActual harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 3, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 3, 2024)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
Complaint investigation · Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 24, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
Complaint investigation · Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 24, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.
Complaint investigation · Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 24, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 24, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 24, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
Complaint investigation · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 24, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition
Complaint investigation · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 24, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
Complaint investigation · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 24, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 24, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 24, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
Complaint investigation · Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 24, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
Complaint investigation · Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 24, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
Complaint investigation · Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 24, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
Complaint investigation · Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 24, 2023)
Showing the 30 most recent of 31.
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Oregon homes averaged 0.8 fines and $27,522 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Oregon
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Rose City Nursing and Rehabilitation?
Rose City Nursing and Rehabilitation has an overall rating of 3 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 3, staffing is 4 and quality measures is 3.
How many beds does Rose City Nursing and Rehabilitation have?
Rose City Nursing and Rehabilitation has 55 certified beds. It averages 51.4 residents per day, about 93.5% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Rose City Nursing and Rehabilitation?
The home reports 5.30 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 0.65 hours from registered nurses. The Oregon average is 5.03 hours and 0.72 hours from registered nurses.
Has Rose City Nursing and Rehabilitation been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Rose City Nursing and Rehabilitation accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 2 of 5 Menlo Park Post Acute 83beds 86.5%in use 4.50nurse hours a day
- 3 of 5 Glisan Post Acute 100beds 78.0%in use 4.74nurse hours a day
- 3 of 5 Gateway Care and Retirement 59beds 96.1%in use 4.75nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Multnomah County
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 38E157. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.