Crawford County, Pennsylvania · Nursing home
Meadville Medical Ctr TCU
5 of 5 overall from CMS
1034 Grove Street, Meadville, PA 16335
At a glance
- Overall rating 5 of 5 Above the state average of 3.0
- Nurse time per resident, per day 10.84 hours Above the state average of 3.89
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 7 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $7,172 3 fines
- Certified beds in use 55.9% of 32 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Meadville Medical Ctr TCU is a 32-bed nursing home in Meadville, Pennsylvania (Crawford County). CMS rates it 5 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 10.84 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, above the Pennsylvania average of 3.89. CMS lists 3 fines totaling $7,172 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 32
- Residents per day (average)
- 17.9
- Certified since
- 1993 (33 yrs)
Non profit - Corporation Participates in MedicareLocated in a hospital
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Meadville Medical Ctr TCU
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 3 fines totaling $7,172 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- Reported nurse staffing is 9.68 hours per resident on weekends against 10.84 overall. Who covers Saturdays and Sundays?Weekend staffing in CMS data
- About 55.9% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 5 of 5 Pennsylvania average 3.0
- Health inspections 4 of 5 Pennsylvania average 2.8
- Staffing 4 of 5 Pennsylvania average 3.0
- Quality measures 5 of 5 Pennsylvania average 3.6
The vertical line marks the Pennsylvania average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 10.84 h Pennsylvania average 3.89
- Nurse aides 4.76 h Pennsylvania average 2.19
- Licensed practical nurses 2.40 h Pennsylvania average 0.91
- Registered nurses 3.68 h Pennsylvania average 0.79
- All staff, weekends 9.68 h Pennsylvania average 3.53
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 11 hours. The vertical line marks the Pennsylvania average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Pennsylvania average44.5%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Pennsylvania average39.9%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Pennsylvania and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Pennsylvania | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | Too few residents or stays to report | 16.8% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | Too few residents or stays to report | 6.2% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.7% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.5% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | Too few residents or stays to report | 10.8% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.2% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | Too few residents or stays to report | 3.1% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 87.5% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 17.0% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 20.0% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 93.5% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | Too few residents or stays to report | 4.8% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | Too few residents or stays to report | 25.5% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 17.7% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 1.62 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 1.18 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Pennsylvania | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 98.9% | 70.0% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 0.0% | 1.4% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 56.8% | 68.7% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 20.2% | 22.5% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 4.6% | 9.5% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 7 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Nov 21, 2025 | 4 | 2 |
| Nov 15, 2024 | 1 | 1 |
| Dec 14, 2023 | 2 | 5 |
Pennsylvania homes averaged 10.0 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (7)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 20, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 20, 2026)
-
CPotential for minimal harm, widespread
Develop and implement policies and procedures for flu and pneumonia vaccinations.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 20, 2026)
-
CPotential for minimal harm, widespread
Educate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 20, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Respond appropriately to all alleged violations.
Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 10, 2025)
Show 2 more
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 31, 2024)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Jan 8, 2024 | Fine | $2,279 |
| Jan 2, 2024 | Fine | $1,748 |
| Dec 11, 2023 | Fine | $3,145 |
Pennsylvania homes averaged 0.8 fines and $25,774 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Pennsylvania
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Meadville Medical Ctr TCU?
Meadville Medical Ctr TCU has an overall rating of 5 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 4, staffing is 4 and quality measures is 5.
How many beds does Meadville Medical Ctr TCU have?
Meadville Medical Ctr TCU has 32 certified beds. It averages 17.9 residents per day, about 55.9% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Meadville Medical Ctr TCU?
The home reports 10.84 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 3.68 hours from registered nurses. The Pennsylvania average is 3.89 hours and 0.79 hours from registered nurses.
Has Meadville Medical Ctr TCU been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 3 fines totaling $7,172 in the past three years.
Does Meadville Medical Ctr TCU accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 4 of 5 Wesbury United Methodist Commu 210beds 72.8%in use 3.63nurse hours a day
- 4 of 5 Embassy of Park Avenue 173beds 62.6%in use 3.62nurse hours a day
- 1 of 5 Crawford Care Center 157beds 75.5%in use 3.43nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Crawford County
Who to call in Pennsylvania
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Pennsylvania.
- Long-term care ombudsman Pennsylvania Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 717-783-8975 An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Division of Nursing Care Facilities 1-800-254-5164 The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Pennsylvania staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 395894. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.