Franklin County, Tennessee · Nursing home
Southern Tenn Medical Center SNF
1 of 5 overall from CMS
629 Hospital Road, Winchester, TN 37398
At a glance
- Overall rating 1 of 5 Below the state average of 3.0
- Nurse time per resident, per day 4.42 hours Above the state average of 3.80
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 11 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 25.2% of 46 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Southern Tenn Medical Center SNF is a 46-bed nursing home in Winchester, Tennessee (Franklin County). CMS rates it 1 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 4.42 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, above the Tennessee average of 3.80. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 46
- Residents per day (average)
- 11.6
- Certified since
- 1989 (37 yrs)
For profit - Individual Participates in Medicare and Medicaid
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Southern Tenn Medical Center SNF
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS counts 6 health deficiencies in the latest inspection cycle (the standard inspection on Sep 4, 2025 plus complaint and infection-control inspections); the Tennessee average is 4.4. Which have been corrected?Inspection results in CMS data
- Reported nurse staffing is 2.96 hours per resident on weekends against 4.42 overall. Who covers Saturdays and Sundays?Weekend staffing in CMS data
- About 25.2% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 1 of 5 Tennessee average 3.0
- Health inspections 2 of 5 Tennessee average 3.0
- Staffing 1 of 5 Tennessee average 2.5
- Quality measures 4 of 5 Tennessee average 3.6
The vertical line marks the Tennessee average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 4.42 h Tennessee average 3.80
- Nurse aides 1.12 h Tennessee average 2.12
- Licensed practical nurses 2.10 h Tennessee average 1.09
- Registered nurses 1.21 h Tennessee average 0.60
- All staff, weekends 2.96 h Tennessee average 3.31
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 8 hours. The vertical line marks the Tennessee average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Tennessee average48.9%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Tennessee average43.2%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Tennessee and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Tennessee | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | Too few residents or stays to report | 14.0% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | Too few residents or stays to report | 6.1% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.7% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.8% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | Too few residents or stays to report | 13.8% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | Too few residents or stays to report | 3.4% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 89.4% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 17.2% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 31.7% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 94.5% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | Too few residents or stays to report | 5.0% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | Too few residents or stays to report | 20.0% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 16.8% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 1.67 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 1.56 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Tennessee | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 94.7% | 79.3% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 0.6% | 1.7% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 79.4% | 79.8% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 24.6% | 22.6% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 22.8% | 11.2% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 11 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 4, 2025 | 6 | 8 |
| Jul 13, 2022 | 4 | 1 |
| May 8, 2019 | 1 | 1 |
Tennessee homes averaged 4.4 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (11)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 19, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 19, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Administer the facility in a manner that enables it to use its resources effectively and efficiently.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 19, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Set up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 19, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Educate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 19, 2025)
Show 6 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate care for residents who are continent or incontinent of bowel/bladder, appropriate catheter care, and appropriate care to prevent urinary tract infections.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 19, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 25, 2022)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 25, 2022)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 25, 2022)
-
BPotential for minimal harm, pattern
Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 25, 2022)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 29, 2019)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Tennessee homes averaged 0.5 fines and $22,907 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Tennessee
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Southern Tenn Medical Center SNF?
Southern Tenn Medical Center SNF has an overall rating of 1 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 2, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 4.
How many beds does Southern Tenn Medical Center SNF have?
Southern Tenn Medical Center SNF has 46 certified beds. It averages 11.6 residents per day, about 25.2% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Southern Tenn Medical Center SNF?
The home reports 4.42 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 1.21 hours from registered nurses. The Tennessee average is 3.80 hours and 0.60 hours from registered nurses.
Has Southern Tenn Medical Center SNF been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Southern Tenn Medical Center SNF accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 3 of 5 Elk River Health & Nursing Center of Winchester 80beds 65.0%in use 3.70nurse hours a day
- 1 of 5 Heritage Place Care & Rehabilitation LLC 132beds 59.8%in use 3.17nurse hours a day
- 3 of 5 Signature Healthcare of Monteagle Rehab & Wellness 150beds 46.1%in use 3.54nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Franklin County
Who to call in Tennessee
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Tennessee.
- Long-term care ombudsman Tennessee Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 877-236-0013 (Toll-free; routes callers to the District Ombudsman program for their area. State office: 615-253-5412.) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Health Facilities Commission complaint intake (Division of Licensure and Regulation) 1-877-287-0010 (Toll-free; Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Complaints can also be filed through the Commission's online Public Records & Complaints Portal.) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Tennessee staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 445222. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.