Fort Bend County, Texas · Nursing home
Oakbend Medical Center
4 of 5 overall from CMS
1705 Jackson Street, Rosenberg, TX 77469
At a glance
- Overall rating 4 of 5 Above the state average of 2.7
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 7 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $12,267 2 fines
- Certified beds in use 266.9% of 36 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Oakbend Medical Center is a 36-bed nursing home in Rosenberg, Texas (Fort Bend County). CMS rates it 4 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists 2 fines totaling $12,267 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 36
- Residents per day (average)
- 96.1
- Certified since
- 1988 (38 yrs)
For profit - Individual Participates in MedicarePart of Oakbend Medical Center (5 homes)Located in a hospital
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Oakbend Medical Center
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 2 fines totaling $12,267 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- About 266.9% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Is there a waiting list, and how long is it?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 4 of 5 Texas average 2.7
- Health inspections 4 of 5 Texas average 2.8
- Staffing 1 of 5 Texas average 1.9
- Quality measures 5 of 5 Texas average 3.7
The vertical line marks the Texas average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported Texas average 3.39
- Nurse aides Not reported Texas average 2.01
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported Texas average 0.95
- Registered nurses Not reported Texas average 0.43
- All staff, weekends Not reported Texas average 2.98
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 11 hours. The vertical line marks the Texas average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Texas average55.3%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Texas average54.6%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Texas and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Texas | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | Too few residents or stays to report | 15.8% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | Too few residents or stays to report | 3.0% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.3% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.8% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.4% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | Too few residents or stays to report | 3.3% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 96.6% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 14.0% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 18.0% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 98.0% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | Too few residents or stays to report | 3.8% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | Too few residents or stays to report | 13.4% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 9.6% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 2.17 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 2.06 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Texas | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 55.8% | 88.9% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 3.9% | 1.5% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 94.2% | 88.0% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 18.8% | 25.7% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 9.3% | 12.3% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 7 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy. 1 was cited in connection with a complaint investigation.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Jun 17, 2026 | 6 | 1 |
| May 7, 2025 | 1 | 3 |
| Mar 6, 2024 | 0 | 2 |
Texas homes averaged 9.4 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (7)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 9, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide enough nursing staff every day to meet the needs of every resident; and have a licensed nurse in charge on each shift.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 9, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 9, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Make sure that the nursing home area is safe, easy to use, clean and comfortable for residents, staff and the public.
Environmental · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 9, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Make sure there is a pest control program to prevent/deal with mice, insects, or other pests.
Environmental · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 9, 2026)
Show 2 more
-
CPotential for minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 9, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Complaint investigation · Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 26, 2025)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Jan 8, 2024 | Fine | $3,798 |
| Dec 18, 2023 | Fine | $8,469 |
Texas homes averaged 1.5 fines and $44,141 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Texas
- Size1162 of 1177 by certified beds
- Texas average residents per day75.8
- ChainOakbend Medical Center
- Chain average overall rating3.0 of 5
- Resident or family councilNone
- Homes in Rosenberg3
- Homes in Fort Bend County15
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Oakbend Medical Center?
Oakbend Medical Center has an overall rating of 4 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 4, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 5.
How many beds does Oakbend Medical Center have?
Oakbend Medical Center has 36 certified beds. It averages 96.1 residents per day, about 266.9% of its certified beds.
Has Oakbend Medical Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 2 fines totaling $12,267 in the past three years.
Does Oakbend Medical Center accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 4 of 5 Richmond Health Care Center 92beds 57.9%in use 3.66nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Paradigm at the Brazos 56beds 72.5%in use 3.19nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 Cambridge Health and Rehabilitation Center 158beds 75.9%in use 3.24nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Fort Bend County
Who to call in Texas
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Texas.
- Long-term care ombudsman Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 1-800-252-2412 An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Complaint and Incident Intake 1-800-458-9858 (Monday to Friday, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Central) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Texas staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 455770. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.