Cache County, Utah · Nursing home
Maple Springs Senior Living
3 of 5 overall from CMS
350 East 2200 North, North Logan, UT 84341
At a glance
- Overall rating 3 of 5 Below the state average of 3.3
- Nurse time per resident, per day 5.88 hours Above the state average of 4.09
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 22 1 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $8,278 1 fine
- Certified beds in use 37.8% of 98 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Maple Springs Senior Living is a 98-bed nursing home in North Logan, Utah (Cache County). CMS rates it 3 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 5.88 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, above the Utah average of 4.09. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $8,278 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 98
- Residents per day (average)
- 37.0
- Certified since
- 2017 (9 yrs)
For profit - Corporation Participates in MedicarePart of Maple Springs Living (3 homes)Continuing care retirement community
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Maple Springs Senior Living
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 1 fine totaling $8,278 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- About 37.8% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 3 of 5 Utah average 3.3
- Health inspections 3 of 5 Utah average 2.8
- Staffing 4 of 5 Utah average 3.2
- Quality measures 4 of 5 Utah average 4.6
The vertical line marks the Utah average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 5.88 h Utah average 4.09
- Nurse aides 3.62 h Utah average 2.36
- Licensed practical nurses 0.77 h Utah average 0.48
- Registered nurses 1.49 h Utah average 1.25
- All staff, weekends 5.50 h Utah average 3.58
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 10 hours. The vertical line marks the Utah average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Utah average50.7%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Utah average40.6%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Utah and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Utah | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 5.4% | 11.3% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 6.8% | 3.4% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.7% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 1.6% | 1.8% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 5.7% | 16.5% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 0.0% | 2.5% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 100.0% | 97.4% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 15.1% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 20.5% | 25.3% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 98.0% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.0% | 3.9% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 33.8% | 21.5% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 33.3% | 14.2% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.25 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.43 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Utah | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 95.6% | 93.8% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 2.6% | 0.9% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 90.3% | 91.0% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 25.5% | 16.5% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 12.1% | 11.6% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 22 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 1 involved actual harm; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 3 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Dec 8, 2025: Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Feb 25, 2026 | 6 | 6 |
| Nov 16, 2023 | 12 | 7 |
| Jan 13, 2022 | 4 | 1 |
Utah homes averaged 8.8 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (22)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 25, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 25, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 25, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 25, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 25, 2026)
Show 17 more
-
GActual harm, isolated
Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs.
Complaint investigation · Nutrition and Dietary · Past Non-Compliance (Dec 3, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Not transfer or discharge a resident without an adequate reason; and must provide documentation and convey specific information when a resident is transferred or discharged.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 20, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 23, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 25, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 20, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 20, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 20, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 20, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 31, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide timely, quality laboratory services/tests to meet the needs of residents.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 20, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Keep complete, dated laboratory records in the resident's record.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 31, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 22, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Implement a program that monitors antibiotic use.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Dec 20, 2023)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 10, 2022)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 10, 2022)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Perform COVID19 testing on residents and staff.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 10, 2022)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that the resident and his/her doctor meet face-to-face at all required visits.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 10, 2022)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Dec 8, 2025 | Fine | $8,278 |
Utah homes averaged 0.9 fines and $23,954 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Utah
- Size43 of 97 by certified beds
- Utah average residents per day61.1
- ChainMaple Springs Living
- Chain average overall rating3.3 of 5
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Cache County4
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Maple Springs Senior Living?
Maple Springs Senior Living has an overall rating of 3 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 3, staffing is 4 and quality measures is 4.
How many beds does Maple Springs Senior Living have?
Maple Springs Senior Living has 98 certified beds. It averages 37.0 residents per day, about 37.8% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Maple Springs Senior Living?
The home reports 5.88 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 1.49 hours from registered nurses. The Utah average is 4.09 hours and 1.25 hours from registered nurses.
Has Maple Springs Senior Living been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $8,278 in the past three years.
Does Maple Springs Senior Living accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 3 of 5 Rocky Mountain Care - Logan 120beds 57.6%in use 3.36nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Logan Regional Hospital Transitional Care Unit 11beds 80.9%in use 9.62nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 Sunshine Terrace Skilled Nursing 172beds 38.6%in use 4.06nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Cache County
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 465186. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.