Grays Harbor County, Washington · Nursing home
Montesano Health-Rehab Center
5 of 5 overall from CMS
800 N Medcalf Lane, Montesano, WA 98563
At a glance
- Overall rating 5 of 5 Above the state average of 3.3
- Nurse time per resident, per day 5.57 hours Above the state average of 4.36
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 16 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 33.4% of 94 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Montesano Health-Rehab Center is a 94-bed nursing home in Montesano, Washington (Grays Harbor County). CMS rates it 5 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 5.57 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, above the Washington average of 4.36. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 94
- Residents per day (average)
- 31.4
- Certified since
- 2025 (1 yrs)
For profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and MedicaidPart of Genesis Healthcare (184 homes)
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Montesano Health-Rehab Center
Chosen from this home's public data.
- Reported nurse staffing is 4.87 hours per resident on weekends against 5.57 overall. Who covers Saturdays and Sundays?Weekend staffing in CMS data
- About 33.4% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 5 of 5 Washington average 3.3
- Health inspections 4 of 5 Washington average 2.8
- Staffing 5 of 5 Washington average 3.6
- Quality measures Not rated Washington average 4.0
The vertical line marks the Washington average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 5.57 h Washington average 4.36
- Nurse aides 3.13 h Washington average 2.66
- Licensed practical nurses 1.00 h Washington average 0.77
- Registered nurses 1.43 h Washington average 0.94
- All staff, weekends 4.87 h Washington average 3.80
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 17 hours. The vertical line marks the Washington average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Washington average45.1%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Washington average45.4%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Washington and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Washington | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | Too few residents or stays to report | 14.2% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | Too few residents or stays to report | 5.5% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.0% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.6% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | Too few residents or stays to report | 17.7% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 0.0% | 2.6% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 90.9% | 96.0% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 17.2% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 14.3% | 12.4% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 93.8% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | Too few residents or stays to report | 4.3% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | Too few residents or stays to report | 22.5% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 15.1% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.33 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.52 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Washington | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 77.0% | 88.3% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 3.8% | 1.3% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 82.0% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 19.9% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 13.4% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 16 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy. 2 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Jun 18, 2026 | 15 | 3 |
| Aug 20, 2025 | 1 | 3 |
Washington homes averaged 15.8 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (16)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Complaint investigation · Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 7, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 10, 2026)
Show 11 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide safe, appropriate pain management for a resident who requires such services.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure each resident must receive and the facility must provide necessary behavioral health care and services.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Inform resident or representatives choice to enter into binding arbitration agreement and right to refuse.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 10, 2026)
-
CPotential for minimal harm, widespread
Give residents notice of Medicaid/Medicare coverage and potential liability for services not covered.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 10, 2026)
-
BPotential for minimal harm, pattern
Notify the appropriate authorities when residents with MD or ID services has a significant change in condition.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 3, 2026)
-
BPotential for minimal harm, pattern
Inform resident or representatives choice to enter into binding arbitration agreement and right to refuse.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 25, 2025)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Washington homes averaged 1.2 fines and $52,633 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Washington
- Size107 of 193 by certified beds
- Washington average residents per day76.0
- ChainGenesis Healthcare
- Chain average overall rating2.3 of 5
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Grays Harbor County3
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Montesano Health-Rehab Center?
Montesano Health-Rehab Center has an overall rating of 5 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 4, staffing is 5 and quality measures is not published.
How many beds does Montesano Health-Rehab Center have?
Montesano Health-Rehab Center has 94 certified beds. It averages 31.4 residents per day, about 33.4% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Montesano Health-Rehab Center?
The home reports 5.57 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 1.43 hours from registered nurses. The Washington average is 4.36 hours and 0.94 hours from registered nurses.
Has Montesano Health-Rehab Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Montesano Health-Rehab Center accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 4 of 5 Grays Harbor Health & Rehabilitation Center 105beds 64.2%in use 4.17nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Pacific Care and Rehabilitation 72beds 90.8%in use 4.01nurse hours a day
- 4 of 5 Willapa Harbor Care 60beds 78.0%in use 3.68nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Grays Harbor County
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 505537. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.