Cabell County, West Virginia · Nursing home
St. Mary's Hospital
5 of 5 overall from CMS
2900 First Street, Huntington, WV 25702
At a glance
- Overall rating 5 of 5 Above the state average of 3.0
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 12 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 21.6% of 19 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
St. Mary's Hospital is a 19-bed nursing home in Huntington, West Virginia (Cabell County). CMS rates it 5 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 19
- Residents per day (average)
- 4.1
- Certified since
- 1991 (35 yrs)
Non profit - Corporation Participates in MedicareLocated in a hospital
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask St. Mary's Hospital
Chosen from this home's public data.
- About 21.6% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 5 of 5 West Virginia average 3.0
- Health inspections 5 of 5 West Virginia average 2.9
- Staffing 1 of 5 West Virginia average 2.6
- Quality measures 5 of 5 West Virginia average 3.6
The vertical line marks the West Virginia average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported West Virginia average 3.67
- Nurse aides Not reported West Virginia average 2.04
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported West Virginia average 0.90
- Registered nurses Not reported West Virginia average 0.73
- All staff, weekends Not reported West Virginia average 3.17
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 8 hours. The vertical line marks the West Virginia average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- West Virginia average44.1%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- West Virginia average42.3%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the West Virginia and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | West Virginia | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | Too few residents or stays to report | 14.7% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | Too few residents or stays to report | 6.3% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.4% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.6% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | Too few residents or stays to report | 7.6% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | Too few residents or stays to report | 0.2% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | Too few residents or stays to report | 4.4% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 96.4% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 15.9% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 27.0% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 97.6% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | Too few residents or stays to report | 4.2% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | Too few residents or stays to report | 22.1% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 13.4% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 1.80 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 1.84 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | West Virginia | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 95.6% | 79.1% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 0.8% | 1.0% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 79.4% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 29.6% | 22.5% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 1.7% | 11.3% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 12 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Apr 15, 2026 | 1 | 1 |
| Feb 26, 2025 | 7 | 0 |
| Jan 17, 2024 | 4 | 0 |
West Virginia homes averaged 11.7 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (12)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Not hire anyone with a finding of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or theft.
Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 5, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure that nurses and nurse aides have the appropriate competencies to care for every resident in a way that maximizes each resident's well being.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 30, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 30, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure nurse aides have the skills they need to care for residents, and give nurse aides education in dementia care and abuse prevention.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 30, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 30, 2025)
Show 7 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Not hire anyone with a finding of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or theft.
Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 30, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 30, 2025)
-
BPotential for minimal harm, pattern
Post nurse staffing information every day.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 30, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Educate residents and staff on COVID-19 vaccination, offer the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible residents and staff after education, and properly document each resident and staff member's vaccination status.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
West Virginia homes averaged 0.8 fines and $29,505 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within West Virginia
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for St. Mary's Hospital?
St. Mary's Hospital has an overall rating of 5 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 5, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 5.
How many beds does St. Mary's Hospital have?
St. Mary's Hospital has 19 certified beds. It averages 4.1 residents per day, about 21.6% of its certified beds.
Has St. Mary's Hospital been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does St. Mary's Hospital accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 2 of 5 Huntington Health and Rehabilitation Center 186beds 96.7%in use 3.61nurse hours a day
- 1 of 5 Heritage Center 160beds 97.2%in use 3.47nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Madison Park Healthcare 41beds 96.8%in use 3.84nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Cabell County
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 515113. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.