Sonoma County, California · Nursing home
Healdsburg Hospital D/p SNF
4 of 5 overall from CMS
1375 University Avenue, Healdsburg, CA 95448
At a glance
- Overall rating 4 of 5 Above the state average of 3.2
- Nurse time per resident, per day 10.57 hours Above the state average of 4.52
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 6 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $32,110 5 fines
- Certified beds in use 90.0% of 17 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Healdsburg Hospital D/p SNF is a 17-bed nursing home in Healdsburg, California (Sonoma County). CMS rates it 4 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 10.57 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, above the California average of 4.52. CMS lists 5 fines totaling $32,110 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 17
- Residents per day (average)
- 15.3
- Certified since
- 1994 (32 yrs)
Non profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and MedicaidPart of Providence Health & Services (8 homes)Located in a hospital
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Healdsburg Hospital D/p SNF
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 5 fines totaling $32,110 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 4 of 5 California average 3.2
- Health inspections 5 of 5 California average 2.8
- Staffing 1 of 5 California average 3.3
- Quality measures 3 of 5 California average 4.1
The vertical line marks the California average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 10.57 h California average 4.52
- Nurse aides 4.67 h California average 2.65
- Licensed practical nurses 1.48 h California average 1.20
- Registered nurses 4.43 h California average 0.67
- All staff, weekends 9.55 h California average 4.09
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 12 hours. The vertical line marks the California average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- California average36.7%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- California average38.1%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the California and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | California | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | Too few residents or stays to report | 10.2% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 0.0% | 4.0% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 1.2% | 0.8% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 11.9% | 1.2% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | Too few residents or stays to report | 7.3% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 13.1% | 0.4% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 0.0% | 1.6% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 80.3% | 98.6% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 9.8% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 50.8% | 13.7% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 98.2% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.2% | 4.3% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | Too few residents or stays to report | 10.2% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 13.3% | 12.0% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.25 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.57 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | California | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 94.4% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.5% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 93.2% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 23.0% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 11.2% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 6 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Jul 9, 2026 | 3 | 8 |
| Aug 16, 2024 | 3 | 3 |
| Oct 27, 2022 | 0 | 4 |
California homes averaged 15.6 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (6)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 30, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 30, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Post nurse staffing information every day.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 30, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 6, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 6, 2024)
Show 1 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 6, 2024)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Nov 13, 2023 | Fine | $4,587 |
| Nov 6, 2023 | Fine | $4,587 |
| Oct 17, 2023 | Fine | $13,762 |
| Oct 2, 2023 | Fine | $4,587 |
| Sep 25, 2023 | Fine | $4,587 |
California homes averaged 0.8 fines and $23,986 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within California
- Size1152 of 1161 by certified beds
- California average residents per day87.9
- ChainProvidence Health & Services
- Chain average overall rating3.0 of 5
- Resident or family councilNone
- Homes in Sonoma County18
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Healdsburg Hospital D/p SNF?
Healdsburg Hospital D/p SNF has an overall rating of 4 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 5, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 3.
How many beds does Healdsburg Hospital D/p SNF have?
Healdsburg Hospital D/p SNF has 17 certified beds. It averages 15.3 residents per day, about 90.0% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Healdsburg Hospital D/p SNF?
The home reports 10.57 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 4.43 hours from registered nurses. The California average is 4.52 hours and 0.67 hours from registered nurses.
Has Healdsburg Hospital D/p SNF been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 5 fines totaling $32,110 in the past three years.
Does Healdsburg Hospital D/p SNF accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 5 of 5 Arbol Healthcare Center of Santa Rosa 45beds 76.0%in use 5.62nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Cloverdale Healthcare Center 72beds 77.5%in use 4.36nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 Blue Oak Post-Acute 181beds 90.2%in use 3.44nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Sonoma County
Who to call in California
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in California.
- Long-term care ombudsman Statewide Ombudsman Hotline 1-800-231-4024 (24 hours a day, 7 days a week) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Licensing and Certification district offices The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
California staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 555590. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.