Runnels County, Texas · Nursing home
Central Texas Nursing & Rehabilitation
3 of 5 overall from CMS
1800 N Broadway St, Ballinger, TX 76821
At a glance
- Overall rating 3 of 5 Above the state average of 2.7
- Nurse time per resident, per day 3.04 hours Below the state average of 3.39
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 16 1 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $8,936 1 fine
- Certified beds in use 49.6% of 118 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Central Texas Nursing & Rehabilitation is a 118-bed nursing home in Ballinger, Texas (Runnels County). CMS rates it 3 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 3.04 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, below the Texas average of 3.39. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $8,936 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 118
- Residents per day (average)
- 58.5
- Certified since
- 1994 (32 yrs)
For profit - Limited Liability company Participates in Medicare and MedicaidPart of Creative Solutions in Healthcare (149 homes)
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Central Texas Nursing & Rehabilitation
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 1 fine totaling $8,936 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- Reported nurse staffing is 2.53 hours per resident on weekends against 3.04 overall. Who covers Saturdays and Sundays?Weekend staffing in CMS data
- About 49.6% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 3 of 5 Texas average 2.7
- Health inspections 4 of 5 Texas average 2.8
- Staffing 1 of 5 Texas average 1.9
- Quality measures 2 of 5 Texas average 3.7
The vertical line marks the Texas average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 3.04 h Texas average 3.39
- Nurse aides 1.70 h Texas average 2.01
- Licensed practical nurses 0.88 h Texas average 0.95
- Registered nurses 0.46 h Texas average 0.43
- All staff, weekends 2.53 h Texas average 2.98
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 11 hours. The vertical line marks the Texas average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Texas average55.3%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Texas average54.6%
- Administrators who left1
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Texas and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Texas | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 24.2% | 15.8% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 2.8% | 3.0% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.3% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 0.8% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 3.3% | 2.4% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 4.7% | 3.3% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 100.0% | 96.6% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 23.9% | 14.0% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 18.1% | 18.0% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 98.0% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 2.7% | 3.8% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 11.3% | 13.4% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 23.5% | 9.6% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 2.80 | 2.17 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 4.49 | 2.06 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Texas | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 100.0% | 88.9% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 4.3% | 1.5% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 88.0% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 28.3% | 25.7% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 4.6% | 12.3% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 16 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 1 was at the immediate jeopardy level; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 10 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Feb 15, 2024: Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| May 29, 2025 | 8 | 4 |
| Apr 18, 2024 | 5 | 4 |
| Feb 16, 2023 | 3 | 1 |
Texas homes averaged 9.4 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (16)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Complaint investigation · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 8, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food prepared in a form designed to meet individual needs.
Complaint investigation · Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 8, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Timely report suspected abuse, neglect, or theft and report the results of the investigation to proper authorities.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 17, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 17, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Complaint investigation · Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 30, 2025)
Show 11 more
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Complaint investigation · Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 30, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 30, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Complaint investigation · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 30, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure that residents are fully informed and understand their health status, care and treatments.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 19, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 19, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.
Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 19, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 19, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 19, 2024)
-
JImmediate jeopardy, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Past Non-Compliance (Jan 10, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
Complaint investigation · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Past Non-Compliance (Dec 26, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 31, 2023)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Feb 15, 2024 | Fine | $8,936 |
Texas homes averaged 1.5 fines and $44,141 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Texas
- Size611 of 1177 by certified beds
- Texas average residents per day75.8
- ChainCreative Solutions in Healthcare
- Chain average overall rating2.1 of 5
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Runnels County2
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Central Texas Nursing & Rehabilitation?
Central Texas Nursing & Rehabilitation has an overall rating of 3 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 4, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 2.
How many beds does Central Texas Nursing & Rehabilitation have?
Central Texas Nursing & Rehabilitation has 118 certified beds. It averages 58.5 residents per day, about 49.6% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Central Texas Nursing & Rehabilitation?
The home reports 3.04 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 0.46 hours from registered nurses. The Texas average is 3.39 hours and 0.43 hours from registered nurses.
Has Central Texas Nursing & Rehabilitation been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $8,936 in the past three years.
Does Central Texas Nursing & Rehabilitation accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 3 of 5 Ballinger Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center 114beds 52.6%in use 3.04nurse hours a day
- 4 of 5 Bronte Health and Rehab Center 55beds 64.2%in use 3.63nurse hours a day
- 4 of 5 Holiday Hill Inc 106beds 52.8%in use 3.58nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Runnels County
Who to call in Texas
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Texas.
- Long-term care ombudsman Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 1-800-252-2412 An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Complaint and Incident Intake 1-800-458-9858 (Monday to Friday, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Central) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Texas staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 675326. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.