Travis County, Texas · Nursing home
Sedona Trace Health and Wellness Center
3 of 5 overall from CMS
8324 Cameron Rd., Austin, TX 78754
At a glance
- Overall rating 3 of 5 Above the state average of 2.7
- Nurse time per resident, per day 3.04 hours Below the state average of 3.39
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 16 1 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $11,168 1 fine
- Certified beds in use 95.1% of 119 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Sedona Trace Health and Wellness Center is a 119-bed nursing home in Austin, Texas (Travis County). CMS rates it 3 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 3.04 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, below the Texas average of 3.39. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $11,168 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 119
- Residents per day (average)
- 113.2
- Certified since
- 2018 (8 yrs)
For profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and MedicaidPart of The Ensign Group (344 homes)
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Sedona Trace Health and Wellness Center
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 1 fine totaling $11,168 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- Reported nurse staffing is 2.59 hours per resident on weekends against 3.04 overall. Who covers Saturdays and Sundays?Weekend staffing in CMS data
- About 95.1% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Is there a waiting list, and how long is it?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 3 of 5 Texas average 2.7
- Health inspections 4 of 5 Texas average 2.8
- Staffing 1 of 5 Texas average 1.9
- Quality measures 4 of 5 Texas average 3.7
The vertical line marks the Texas average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 3.04 h Texas average 3.39
- Nurse aides 1.96 h Texas average 2.01
- Licensed practical nurses 0.66 h Texas average 0.95
- Registered nurses 0.42 h Texas average 0.43
- All staff, weekends 2.59 h Texas average 2.98
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 11 hours. The vertical line marks the Texas average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Texas average55.3%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Texas average54.6%
- Administrators who left0
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Texas and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Texas | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 29.7% | 15.8% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 1.4% | 3.0% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.3% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.3% | 0.8% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 4.4% | 2.4% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 1.9% | 3.3% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 86.9% | 96.6% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 44.6% | 14.0% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 10.7% | 18.0% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 93.7% | 98.0% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.8% | 3.8% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 17.8% | 13.4% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 3.5% | 9.6% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 2.00 | 2.17 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 0.70 | 2.06 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Texas | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 77.1% | 88.9% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 0.8% | 1.5% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 95.5% | 88.0% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 21.8% | 25.7% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 7.2% | 12.3% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 16 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 1 was at the immediate jeopardy level; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 4 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Jun 14, 2024: Make sure that a working call system is available in each resident's bathroom and bathing area.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Jul 24, 2025 | 3 | 1 |
| Jun 14, 2024 | 8 | 8 |
| May 11, 2023 | 5 | 0 |
Texas homes averaged 9.4 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (16)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Give the resident's representative the ability to exercise the resident's rights.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 13, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure the transfer/discharge meets the resident's needs/preferences and that the resident is prepared for a safe transfer/discharge.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 13, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 25, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
Complaint investigation · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 15, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Permit a resident to return to the nursing home after hospitalization or therapeutic leave that exceeds bed-hold policy.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 16, 2024)
Show 11 more
-
JImmediate jeopardy, isolated
Make sure that a working call system is available in each resident's bathroom and bathing area.
Environmental · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 15, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 15, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 9, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 15, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 11, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
PASARR screening for Mental disorders or Intellectual Disabilities
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 15, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 15, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 2, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 2, 2023)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 2, 2023)
-
CPotential for minimal harm, widespread
Allow residents to easily view the nursing home's survey results and communicate with advocate agencies.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 2, 2023)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Jun 14, 2024 | Fine | $11,168 |
Texas homes averaged 1.5 fines and $44,141 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Texas
- Size605 of 1177 by certified beds
- Texas average residents per day75.8
- ChainThe Ensign Group
- Chain average overall rating3.2 of 5
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Austin25
- Homes in Travis County28
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Sedona Trace Health and Wellness Center?
Sedona Trace Health and Wellness Center has an overall rating of 3 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 4, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 4.
How many beds does Sedona Trace Health and Wellness Center have?
Sedona Trace Health and Wellness Center has 119 certified beds. It averages 113.2 residents per day, about 95.1% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Sedona Trace Health and Wellness Center?
The home reports 3.04 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 0.42 hours from registered nurses. The Texas average is 3.39 hours and 0.43 hours from registered nurses.
Has Sedona Trace Health and Wellness Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $11,168 in the past three years.
Does Sedona Trace Health and Wellness Center accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 1 of 5 Legend Oaks Healthcare and Rehabilitation - North 124beds 88.6%in use 3.17nurse hours a day
- – not rated Coral Rehabilitation and Nursing of Austin 157beds 44.1%in use 2.82nurse hours a day
- 3 of 5 Oakcrest Nursing and Rehabilitation Center 67beds 93.9%in use 2.68nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Travis County
Who to call in Texas
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Texas.
- Long-term care ombudsman Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 1-800-252-2412 An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Complaint and Incident Intake 1-800-458-9858 (Monday to Friday, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Central) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Texas staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 676459. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.