Marion County, Indiana · Nursing home
Hooverwood
1 of 5 overall from CMS
7001 Hoover Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46260
At a glance
- Overall rating 1 of 5 Below the state average of 3.1
- Nurse time per resident, per day 4.80 hours Above the state average of 3.69
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 34 3 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $41,064 3 fines
- Certified beds in use 82.8% of 155 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Hooverwood is a 155-bed nursing home in Indianapolis, Indiana (Marion County). CMS rates it 1 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 4.80 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, above the Indiana average of 3.69. CMS lists 3 fines totaling $41,064 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 155
- Residents per day (average)
- 128.4
- Certified since
- 1967 (59 yrs)
Non profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and MedicaidCMS abuse citation icon: Yes
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
- Abuse citation icon. CMS assigns this icon when a home was cited for abuse where residents were found to be harmed, on its most recent standard inspection or on a complaint or infection-control inspection in the past 12 months, or was cited for abuse with potential harm in that period and again in the period before. Signs of abuse and how to report it
These labels are shown as CMS publishes them. They describe the inspection record, not what has changed since.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Hooverwood
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 3 fines totaling $41,064 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 1 of 5 Indiana average 3.1
- Health inspections 1 of 5 Indiana average 2.8
- Staffing 3 of 5 Indiana average 2.5
- Quality measures 2 of 5 Indiana average 4.1
The vertical line marks the Indiana average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 4.80 h Indiana average 3.69
- Nurse aides 3.14 h Indiana average 2.24
- Licensed practical nurses 0.99 h Indiana average 0.78
- Registered nurses 0.67 h Indiana average 0.67
- All staff, weekends 4.48 h Indiana average 3.25
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 10 hours. The vertical line marks the Indiana average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Indiana average45.9%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Indiana average40.3%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Indiana and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Indiana | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 31.5% | 11.0% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 6.5% | 5.5% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.8% | 0.4% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 1.3% | 1.1% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 2.0% | 25.2% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 3.1% | 3.9% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 99.6% | 93.6% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 28.2% | 11.9% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 19.4% | 23.5% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 97.9% | 95.4% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 6.3% | 3.6% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 31.3% | 23.3% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 20.1% | 13.6% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 1.73 | 1.61 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 1.27 | 1.44 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Indiana | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 95.2% | 81.8% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 0.5% | 1.2% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 81.2% | 79.0% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 34.2% | 22.2% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 16.3% | 10.8% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 34 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 2 were at the immediate jeopardy level and 1 involved actual harm; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 17 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Dec 30, 2025: Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Apr 20, 2026 | 7 | 5 |
| Mar 26, 2025 | 15 | 15 |
| Mar 6, 2024 | 12 | 12 |
Indiana homes averaged 7.2 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (34)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 9, 2026)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 9, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Reasonably accommodate the needs and preferences of each resident.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 9, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (May 9, 2026)
-
JImmediate jeopardy, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 16, 2026)
Show 25 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Past Non-Compliance
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Protect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Past Non-Compliance
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Notify the resident or the resident’s representative in writing how long the nursing home will hold the resident’s bed in cases of transfer to a hospital or therapeutic leave.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 28, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 28, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 28, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 28, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 28, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 28, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 28, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 28, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Past Non-Compliance (Nov 5, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Past Non-Compliance (Nov 11, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
Complaint investigation · Pharmacy Service · Past Non-Compliance (Oct 15, 2024)
-
JImmediate jeopardy, isolated
Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Past Non-Compliance (Dec 22, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Past Non-Compliance (Sep 23, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Protect each resident from the wrongful use of the resident's belongings or money.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Past Non-Compliance (Aug 23, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Safeguard resident-identifiable information and/or maintain medical records on each resident that are in accordance with accepted professional standards.
Complaint investigation · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Past Non-Compliance (Sep 30, 2024)
-
GActual harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 1, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide activities to meet all resident's needs.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 1, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 1, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Complaint investigation · Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 1, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Allow residents to self-administer drugs if determined clinically appropriate.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 1, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure a qualified health professional conducts resident assessments.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 1, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure residents do not lose the ability to perform activities of daily living unless there is a medical reason.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 1, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 1, 2024)
Showing the 30 most recent of 34.
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Dec 30, 2025 | Fine | $15,940 |
| Dec 27, 2024 | Fine | $16,300 |
| Mar 6, 2024 | Fine | $8,824 |
Indiana homes averaged 0.3 fines and $8,742 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Indiana
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Hooverwood?
Hooverwood has an overall rating of 1 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 1, staffing is 3 and quality measures is 2.
How many beds does Hooverwood have?
Hooverwood has 155 certified beds. It averages 128.4 residents per day, about 82.8% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Hooverwood?
The home reports 4.80 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 0.67 hours from registered nurses. The Indiana average is 3.69 hours and 0.67 hours from registered nurses.
Has Hooverwood been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 3 fines totaling $41,064 in the past three years.
Does Hooverwood accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 2 of 5 Harcourt Terrace Nursing and Rehabilitation 100beds 81.4%in use 3.64nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Marquette 57beds 93.3%in use 4.43nurse hours a day
- 2 of 5 Brickyard Healthcare - Willow Springs Care Center 134beds 47.0%in use 3.60nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Marion County
Who to call in Indiana
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Indiana.
- Long-term care ombudsman Indiana Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 1-800-622-4484 (Also 317-232-7134. Email: LongTermCareOmbudsman@ombudsman.IN.gov) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Indiana Department of Health complaint intake (health care facility complaints) 1-800-246-8909 (Voicemail line for people without internet or email access; IDOH says the online complaint form is the best way to file.) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Indiana staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 155001. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.