Logan County, Ohio · Nursing home
Green Hills Center
3 of 5 overall from CMS
6557 US 68 South, West Liberty, OH 43357
At a glance
- Overall rating 3 of 5 Below the state average of 3.2
- Nurse time per resident, per day 3.53 hours Below the state average of 3.69
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 16 1 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $16,801 1 fine
- Certified beds in use 98.1% of 74 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Green Hills Center is a 74-bed nursing home in West Liberty, Ohio (Logan County). CMS rates it 3 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 3.53 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, below the Ohio average of 3.69. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $16,801 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 74
- Residents per day (average)
- 72.6
- Certified since
- 1977 (49 yrs)
Non profit - Other Participates in Medicare and MedicaidPart of Otterbein Seniorlife (20 homes)Continuing care retirement community
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Green Hills Center
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 1 fine totaling $16,801 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- Reported nurse staffing is 3.16 hours per resident on weekends against 3.53 overall. Who covers Saturdays and Sundays?Weekend staffing in CMS data
- About 98.1% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Is there a waiting list, and how long is it?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 3 of 5 Ohio average 3.2
- Health inspections 3 of 5 Ohio average 2.8
- Staffing 2 of 5 Ohio average 2.4
- Quality measures 4 of 5 Ohio average 4.4
The vertical line marks the Ohio average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 3.53 h Ohio average 3.69
- Nurse aides 2.07 h Ohio average 2.09
- Licensed practical nurses 0.89 h Ohio average 0.95
- Registered nurses 0.57 h Ohio average 0.64
- All staff, weekends 3.16 h Ohio average 3.28
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 11 hours. The vertical line marks the Ohio average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Ohio average48.7%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Ohio average43.9%
- Administrators who left1
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Ohio and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Ohio | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 4.6% | 5.3% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 5.4% | 6.2% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.2% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.4% | 0.4% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 25.3% | 30.1% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 5.0% | 3.2% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 95.8% | 92.7% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 5.6% | 6.1% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 29.5% | 25.5% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 100.0% | 94.5% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.7% | 3.4% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 27.8% | 21.4% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 10.9% | 8.8% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 1.54 | 1.73 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 2.37 | 1.80 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Ohio | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 94.2% | 78.5% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | 2.6% | 1.2% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 87.1% | 75.6% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | 15.9% | 24.9% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | 16.9% | 12.9% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 16 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 1 was at the immediate jeopardy level; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 10 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Jan 22, 2024: Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Sep 11, 2025 | 6 | 11 |
| Jul 13, 2023 | 6 | 11 |
| Sep 12, 2019 | 4 | 7 |
Ohio homes averaged 10.5 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (16)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 27, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 27, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 27, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 27, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide safe, appropriate dialysis care/services for a resident who requires such services.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 27, 2025)
Show 11 more
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Complaint investigation · Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 27, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 14, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 24, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
Complaint investigation · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 24, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
Complaint investigation · Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 24, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that residents are free from significant medication errors.
Complaint investigation · Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 24, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Immediately tell the resident, the resident's doctor, and a family member of situations (injury/decline/room, etc.) that affect the resident.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 12, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 12, 2024)
-
KImmediate jeopardy, pattern
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 30, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 7, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 14, 2019)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Jan 22, 2024 | Fine | $16,801 |
Ohio homes averaged 0.6 fines and $26,381 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Ohio
- Size595 of 922 by certified beds
- Ohio average residents per day73.7
- ChainOtterbein Seniorlife
- Chain average overall rating3.1 of 5
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Logan County4
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Green Hills Center?
Green Hills Center has an overall rating of 3 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 3, staffing is 2 and quality measures is 4.
How many beds does Green Hills Center have?
Green Hills Center has 74 certified beds. It averages 72.6 residents per day, about 98.1% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Green Hills Center?
The home reports 3.53 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 0.57 hours from registered nurses. The Ohio average is 3.69 hours and 0.64 hours from registered nurses.
Has Green Hills Center been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $16,801 in the past three years.
Does Green Hills Center accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 4 of 5 Logan Acres 110beds 90.5%in use –nurse hours a day
- 4 of 5 Ayden Healthcare of Belle Springs. 99beds 81.9%in use 3.30nurse hours a day
- 3 of 5 Vancrest of Urbana, Inc 75beds 89.3%in use 3.43nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Logan County
Who to call in Ohio
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Ohio.
- Long-term care ombudsman Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 1-800-282-1206 An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home Complaint Unit 1-800-342-0553 The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Ohio staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 365362. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.