Osage County, Oklahoma · Nursing home
Fairfax Behavioral Health & Memory Care Community
1 of 5 overall from CMS
282 County Road 6300, Fairfax, OK 74637
At a glance
- Overall rating 1 of 5 Below the state average of 2.7
- Nurse time per resident, per day 3.24 hours Below the state average of 3.79
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 36 2 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $46,436 2 fines
- Certified beds in use 81.7% of 60 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Fairfax Behavioral Health & Memory Care Community is a 60-bed nursing home in Fairfax, Oklahoma (Osage County). CMS rates it 1 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 3.24 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, below the Oklahoma average of 3.79. CMS lists 2 fines totaling $46,436 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 60
- Residents per day (average)
- 49.0
- Certified since
- 2004 (22 yrs)
For profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and MedicaidCMS abuse citation icon: Yes
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
- Abuse citation icon. CMS assigns this icon when a home was cited for abuse where residents were found to be harmed, on its most recent standard inspection or on a complaint or infection-control inspection in the past 12 months, or was cited for abuse with potential harm in that period and again in the period before. Signs of abuse and how to report it
These labels are shown as CMS publishes them. They describe the inspection record, not what has changed since.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Fairfax Behavioral Health & Memory Care Community
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 2 fines totaling $46,436 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- CMS counts 13 health deficiencies in the latest inspection cycle (the standard inspection on Jul 21, 2025 plus complaint and infection-control inspections); the Oklahoma average is 6.4. Which have been corrected?Inspection results in CMS data
- Reported nurse staffing is 2.55 hours per resident on weekends against 3.24 overall. Who covers Saturdays and Sundays?Weekend staffing in CMS data
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 1 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.7
- Health inspections 2 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.8
- Staffing 2 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.6
- Quality measures 1 of 5 Oklahoma average 2.8
The vertical line marks the Oklahoma average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 3.24 h Oklahoma average 3.79
- Nurse aides 2.27 h Oklahoma average 2.54
- Licensed practical nurses 0.75 h Oklahoma average 0.92
- Registered nurses 0.21 h Oklahoma average 0.34
- All staff, weekends 2.55 h Oklahoma average 3.44
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 7 hours. The vertical line marks the Oklahoma average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- Oklahoma average55.5%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- Oklahoma average53.6%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Oklahoma and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Oklahoma | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 27.1% | 13.6% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 11.5% | 3.3% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 3.6% | 1.9% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 6.0% | 2.8% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 6.5% | 3.4% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 9.7% | 4.7% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 81.6% | 91.0% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 21.4% | 13.7% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 36.5% | 25.7% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 77.4% | 94.6% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 3.8% | 4.7% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 18.9% | 17.1% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 67.6% | 17.5% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 3.29 | 2.31 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 5.20 | 2.96 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Oklahoma | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 57.4% | 75.8% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.8% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 74.1% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 27.3% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 16.6% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 36 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 2 involved actual harm; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 9 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Feb 5, 2026: Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Jul 21, 2025 | 13 | 5 |
| Jun 7, 2024 | 13 | 6 |
| May 11, 2023 | 10 | 7 |
Oklahoma homes averaged 6.4 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (36)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 1, 2026)
-
GActual harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
Complaint investigation · Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 10, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Past Non-Compliance
-
GActual harm, isolated
Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 10, 2025)
Show 25 more
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 10, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure menus must meet the nutritional needs of residents, be prepared in advance, be followed, be updated, be reviewed by dietician, and meet the needs of the resident.
Complaint investigation · Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 10, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 10, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 10, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Prevent the use of unnecessary psychotropic medications or use medications that may restrain a resident's ability to function.
Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 10, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Encode each resident’s assessment data and transmit these data to the State within 7 days of assessment.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 12, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 10, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 10, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a safe, clean, comfortable and homelike environment, including but not limited to receiving treatment and supports for daily living safely.
Complaint investigation · Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 11, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 11, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Sep 5, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 2, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 2, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 2, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 2, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 2, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 2, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide timely notification to the resident, and if applicable to the resident representative and ombudsman, before transfer or discharge, including appeal rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 2, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Assess the resident completely in a timely manner when first admitted, and then periodically, at least every 12 months.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 2, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 2, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Set up an ongoing quality assessment and assurance group to review quality deficiencies and develop corrective plans of action.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 2, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Make sure that a working call system is available in each resident's bathroom and bathing area.
Environmental · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 2, 2024)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 15, 2023)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 15, 2023)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 15, 2023)
Showing the 30 most recent of 36.
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Feb 5, 2026 | Fine | $4,186 |
| Jul 21, 2025 | Fine | $42,250 |
Oklahoma homes averaged 0.9 fines and $18,268 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Oklahoma
- Size242 of 283 by certified beds
- Oklahoma average residents per day61.2
- ChainNone listed
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Osage County3
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Fairfax Behavioral Health & Memory Care Community?
Fairfax Behavioral Health & Memory Care Community has an overall rating of 1 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 2, staffing is 2 and quality measures is 1.
How many beds does Fairfax Behavioral Health & Memory Care Community have?
Fairfax Behavioral Health & Memory Care Community has 60 certified beds. It averages 49.0 residents per day, about 81.7% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at Fairfax Behavioral Health & Memory Care Community?
The home reports 3.24 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 0.21 hours from registered nurses. The Oklahoma average is 3.79 hours and 0.34 hours from registered nurses.
Has Fairfax Behavioral Health & Memory Care Community been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 2 fines totaling $46,436 in the past three years.
Does Fairfax Behavioral Health & Memory Care Community accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 4 of 5 Southern Oaks Care Center 82beds 65.7%in use 3.44nurse hours a day
- 4 of 5 Bradbury Commons 68beds 95.7%in use –nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Shawn Manor Nursing Home 96beds 55.9%in use 3.02nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Osage County
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 375467. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.