Richland County, South Carolina · Nursing home
C M Tucker Jr Nursing Care Center Fewell and Stone
2 of 5 overall from CMS
2200 Harden Street, Columbia, SC 29203
At a glance
- Overall rating 2 of 5 Below the state average of 3.0
- Nurse time per resident, per day 5.20 hours Above the state average of 3.84
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 24 7 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $239,350 4 fines
- Certified beds in use 23.0% of 252 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
C M Tucker Jr Nursing Care Center Fewell and Stone is a 252-bed nursing home in Columbia, South Carolina (Richland County). CMS rates it 2 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. It reports 5.20 nurse staffing hours per resident per day, above the South Carolina average of 3.84. CMS lists 4 fines totaling $239,350 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 252
- Residents per day (average)
- 57.9
- Certified since
- 1970 (56 yrs)
Government - State Participates in Medicare and MedicaidCMS abuse citation icon: Yes
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
- Abuse citation icon. CMS assigns this icon when a home was cited for abuse where residents were found to be harmed, on its most recent standard inspection or on a complaint or infection-control inspection in the past 12 months, or was cited for abuse with potential harm in that period and again in the period before. Signs of abuse and how to report it
These labels are shown as CMS publishes them. They describe the inspection record, not what has changed since.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask C M Tucker Jr Nursing Care Center Fewell and Stone
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 4 fines totaling $239,350 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- CMS counts 5 health deficiencies in the latest inspection cycle (the standard inspection on May 15, 2025 plus complaint and infection-control inspections); the South Carolina average is 3.7. Which have been corrected?Inspection results in CMS data
- Reported nurse staffing is 4.32 hours per resident on weekends against 5.20 overall. Who covers Saturdays and Sundays?Weekend staffing in CMS data
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 2 of 5 South Carolina average 3.0
- Health inspections 1 of 5 South Carolina average 2.9
- Staffing 4 of 5 South Carolina average 3.0
- Quality measures 5 of 5 South Carolina average 3.5
The vertical line marks the South Carolina average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff 5.20 h South Carolina average 3.84
- Nurse aides 2.79 h South Carolina average 2.19
- Licensed practical nurses 1.35 h South Carolina average 1.02
- Registered nurses 1.07 h South Carolina average 0.63
- All staff, weekends 4.32 h South Carolina average 3.33
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 8 hours. The vertical line marks the South Carolina average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- South Carolina average45.9%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- South Carolina average42.1%
- Administrators who left2
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the South Carolina and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | South Carolina | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 6.4% | 11.9% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 6.1% | 6.3% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 1.1% | 0.6% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.5% | 1.3% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 1.2% | 3.1% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 0.0% | 3.2% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 93.1% | 91.7% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 18.9% | 12.7% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 8.7% | 21.0% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 92.7% | 90.6% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 7.5% | 5.1% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 13.2% | 16.7% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 11.2% | 15.3% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 1.94 | 2.04 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 0.89 | 1.84 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | South Carolina | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 93.3% | 81.5% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.5% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 78.0% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 24.3% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 13.9% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 24 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 4 were at the immediate jeopardy level and 3 involved actual harm; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 5 were cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on Dec 18, 2025: Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| May 15, 2025 | 5 | 1 |
| Jan 12, 2024 | 14 | 0 |
| Oct 13, 2021 | 5 | 0 |
South Carolina homes averaged 3.7 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (24)
-
JImmediate jeopardy, isolated
Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Past Non-Compliance
-
GActual harm, isolated
Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 30, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 30, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 30, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 30, 2025)
Show 19 more
-
JImmediate jeopardy, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Complaint investigation · Quality of Life and Care · Past Non-Compliance (Jul 11, 2024)
-
JImmediate jeopardy, isolated
Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
JImmediate jeopardy, isolated
Provide pharmaceutical services to meet the needs of each resident and employ or obtain the services of a licensed pharmacist.
Complaint investigation · Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Ensure drugs and biologicals used in the facility are labeled in accordance with currently accepted professional principles; and all drugs and biologicals must be stored in locked compartments, separately locked, compartments for controlled drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Honor the resident's right to organize and participate in resident/family groups in the facility.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide care and assistance to perform activities of daily living for any resident who is unable.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide safe and appropriate respiratory care for a resident when needed.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure food and drink is palatable, attractive, and at a safe and appetizing temperature.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure each resident receives and the facility provides food that accommodates resident allergies, intolerances, and preferences, as well as appealing options.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 9, 2024)
-
GActual harm, isolated
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 10, 2021)
-
GActual harm, isolated
Provide enough food/fluids to maintain a resident's health.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 10, 2021)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Procure food from sources approved or considered satisfactory and store, prepare, distribute and serve food in accordance with professional standards.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 10, 2021)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Dispose of garbage and refuse properly.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 10, 2021)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Dec 18, 2025 | Fine | $10,361 |
| May 15, 2025 | Fine | $53,196 |
| May 15, 2025 | Payment Denial | 16 days |
| Jul 15, 2024 | Fine | $10,036 |
| Jan 12, 2024 | Fine | $165,757 |
South Carolina homes averaged 1.1 fines and $14,833 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within South Carolina
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for C M Tucker Jr Nursing Care Center Fewell and Stone?
C M Tucker Jr Nursing Care Center Fewell and Stone has an overall rating of 2 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 1, staffing is 4 and quality measures is 5.
How many beds does C M Tucker Jr Nursing Care Center Fewell and Stone have?
C M Tucker Jr Nursing Care Center Fewell and Stone has 252 certified beds. It averages 57.9 residents per day, about 23.0% of its certified beds.
How much nursing care do residents get at C M Tucker Jr Nursing Care Center Fewell and Stone?
The home reports 5.20 hours of nurse staffing per resident per day, including 1.07 hours from registered nurses. The South Carolina average is 3.84 hours and 0.63 hours from registered nurses.
Has C M Tucker Jr Nursing Care Center Fewell and Stone been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 4 fines totaling $239,350 in the past three years. It also lists 1 payment denial.
Does C M Tucker Jr Nursing Care Center Fewell and Stone accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 2 of 5 C M Tucker Jr Nursing Care Center Roddey Pavilio 308beds 27.2%in use 6.40nurse hours a day
- 1 of 5 PruittHealth- Columbia 144beds 92.9%in use 3.51nurse hours a day
- 1 of 5 Forest Acres Post Acute 132beds 94.7%in use 2.88nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Richland County
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 425074. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.