Custer County, South Dakota · Nursing home
Custer Care and Rehab Center
1 of 5 overall from CMS
1065 Montgomery St, Custer, SD 57730
At a glance
- Overall rating 1 of 5 Below the state average of 2.9
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 19 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use Not reported of 43 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Custer Care and Rehab Center is a 43-bed nursing home in Custer, South Dakota (Custer County). CMS rates it 1 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 43
- Residents per day (average)
- –
- Certified since
- 2025 (1 yrs)
Non profit - Corporation Participates in Medicare and Medicaid
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Custer Care and Rehab Center
Chosen from this home's public data.
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 1 of 5 South Dakota average 2.9
- Health inspections 2 of 5 South Dakota average 2.9
- Staffing 1 of 5 South Dakota average 3.5
- Quality measures 1 of 5 South Dakota average 2.7
The vertical line marks the South Dakota average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported South Dakota average 3.79
- Nurse aides Not reported South Dakota average 2.52
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported South Dakota average 0.47
- Registered nurses Not reported South Dakota average 0.80
- All staff, weekends Not reported South Dakota average 3.26
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 9 hours. The vertical line marks the South Dakota average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- South Dakota average48.2%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- South Dakota average34.7%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the South Dakota and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | South Dakota | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 28.6% | 21.3% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 6.9% | 5.6% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 3.6% | 2.1% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 6.9% | 2.9% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 22.2% | 5.7% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 6.9% | 5.5% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 62.1% | 94.9% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | Too few residents or stays to report | 19.4% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 41.4% | 17.4% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 95.7% | 96.9% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 8.5% | 4.6% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 30.5% | 25.4% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 38.5% | 24.6% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 1.52 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Data missing or not submitted | 1.75 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | South Dakota | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 83.5% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.0% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 78.2% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Data missing or not submitted | 19.9% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Data missing or not submitted | 12.0% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 19 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Aug 6, 2026 | 2 | 2 |
| Aug 26, 2025 | 17 | – |
South Dakota homes averaged 6.7 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (19)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has plan of correction (Aug 23, 2026)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has plan of correction (Aug 23, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Provide the required documentation or notification related to the resident's needs, appeal rights, or bed-hold policies.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 10, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Have a registered nurse on duty 8 hours a day; and select a registered nurse to be the director of nurses on a full time basis.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 15, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Electronically submit to CMS complete and accurate direct care staffing information, based on payroll and other verifiable and auditable data.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 10, 2025)
Show 14 more
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Have a plan that describes the process for conducting QAPI and QAA activities.
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 10, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 10, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Assess the resident when there is a significant change in condition
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 15, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure each resident receives an accurate assessment.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 10, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 10, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 10, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure each resident’s drug regimen must be free from unnecessary drugs.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 16, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Designate a physician to serve as medical director responsible for implementation of resident care policies and coordination of medical care in the facility.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 10, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Have the Quality Assessment and Assurance group have the required members and meet at least quarterly
Administration · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 10, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Coordinate assessments with the pre-admission screening and resident review program; and referring for services as needed.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 15, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 10, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Try different approaches before using a bed rail. If a bed rail is needed, the facility must (1) assess a resident for safety risk; (2) review these risks and benefits with the resident/representative; (3) get informed consent; and (4) Correctly install and maintain the bed rail.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Nov 15, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Post nurse staffing information every day.
Nursing and Physician Services · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 10, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Regularly inspect all bed frames, mattresses, and bed rails (if any) for safety; and all bed rails and mattresses must attach safely to the bed frame.
Environmental · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Oct 10, 2025)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
South Dakota homes averaged 1.9 fines and $40,815 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within South Dakota
- Size71 of 96 by certified beds
- South Dakota average residents per day52.1
- ChainNone listed
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Custer County1
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Custer Care and Rehab Center?
Custer Care and Rehab Center has an overall rating of 1 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 2, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 1.
How many beds does Custer Care and Rehab Center have?
Custer Care and Rehab Center has 43 certified beds.
Has Custer Care and Rehab Center been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does Custer Care and Rehab Center accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicare and Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 4 of 5 Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home 78beds 66.5%in use –nurse hours a day
- 4 of 5 Seven Sisters Living Center 52beds 95.8%in use 3.69nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Clarkson Health Care 49beds 92.9%in use 4.20nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Custer County
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 435136. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.