Fall River County, South Dakota · Nursing home
Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home
4 of 5 overall from CMS
2500 Minnekahta Avenue, Hot Springs, SD 57747
At a glance
- Overall rating 4 of 5 Above the state average of 2.9
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year Not reported
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 13 2 at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years $39,293 1 fine
- Certified beds in use 66.5% of 78 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home is a 78-bed nursing home in Hot Springs, South Dakota (Fall River County). CMS rates it 4 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $39,293 in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 78
- Residents per day (average)
- 51.9
- Certified since
- 2011 (15 yrs)
Government - State Participates in Medicaid
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home
Chosen from this home's public data.
- CMS lists 1 fine totaling $39,293 in the past three years. What changed after the most recent one?Penalties in CMS data
- About 66.5% of certified beds are in use on an average day. Are any units closed, or are admissions limited?Certified beds and average residents in CMS data
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 4 of 5 South Dakota average 2.9
- Health inspections 4 of 5 South Dakota average 2.9
- Staffing Not rated South Dakota average 3.5
- Quality measures 4 of 5 South Dakota average 2.7
The vertical line marks the South Dakota average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported South Dakota average 3.79
- Nurse aides Not reported South Dakota average 2.52
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported South Dakota average 0.47
- Registered nurses Not reported South Dakota average 0.80
- All staff, weekends Not reported South Dakota average 3.26
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 9 hours. The vertical line marks the South Dakota average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnoverNot reported
- South Dakota average48.2%
- Registered nurse turnoverNot reported
- South Dakota average34.7%
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the South Dakota and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | South Dakota | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 20.7% | 21.3% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 13.4% | 5.6% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.0% | 2.1% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 5.7% | 2.9% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 0.5% | 5.7% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 8.4% | 5.5% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 90.7% | 94.9% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 13.4% | 19.4% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 21.9% | 17.4% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 98.4% | 96.9% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 1.9% | 4.6% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 15.4% | 25.4% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 33.7% | 24.6% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | 0.47 | 1.52 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | 0.68 | 1.75 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | South Dakota | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 91.7% | 83.5% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 2.0% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 78.2% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 19.9% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 12.0% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 13 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. Of these, 2 involved actual harm; the rest were graded as no actual harm. 1 was cited in connection with a complaint investigation. The most recent citation at the harm level or above was on May 1, 2025: Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Jul 9, 2026 | 1 | 0 |
| May 1, 2025 | 6 | 1 |
| Feb 15, 2024 | 6 | 0 |
South Dakota homes averaged 6.7 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (13)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Create and put into place a plan for meeting the resident's most immediate needs within 48 hours of being admitted
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Aug 7, 2026)
-
GActual harm, isolated
Protect each resident from all types of abuse such as physical, mental, sexual abuse, physical punishment, and neglect by anybody.
Complaint investigation · Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Past Non-Compliance (Mar 23, 2025)
-
GActual harm, isolated
Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 27, 2025)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jul 31, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure that a nursing home area is free from accident hazards and provides adequate supervision to prevent accidents.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 27, 2025)
Show 8 more
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Regularly inspect all bed frames, mattresses, and bed rails (if any) for safety; and all bed rails and mattresses must attach safely to the bed frame.
Environmental · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 27, 2025)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Develop the complete care plan within 7 days of the comprehensive assessment; and prepared, reviewed, and revised by a team of health professionals.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jun 27, 2025)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide appropriate pressure ulcer care and prevent new ulcers from developing.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 31, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Provide and implement an infection prevention and control program.
Infection Control · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 31, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Honor the resident's right to a dignified existence, self-determination, communication, and to exercise his or her rights.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 31, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Ensure that each resident is free from the use of physical restraints, unless needed for medical treatment.
Freedom from Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 31, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide appropriate treatment and care according to orders, resident’s preferences and goals.
Quality of Life and Care · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 31, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Provide each resident with a nourishing, palatable, well-balanced diet that meets his or her daily nutritional and special dietary needs.
Nutrition and Dietary · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Mar 31, 2024)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
| Date | Type | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| May 1, 2025 | Fine | $39,293 |
South Dakota homes averaged 1.9 fines and $40,815 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within South Dakota
- Size22 of 96 by certified beds
- South Dakota average residents per day52.1
- ChainNone listed
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Fall River County2
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home?
Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home has an overall rating of 4 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 4, staffing is not published and quality measures is 4.
How many beds does Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home have?
Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home has 78 certified beds. It averages 51.9 residents per day, about 66.5% of its certified beds.
Has Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home been fined?
Yes. CMS lists 1 fine totaling $39,293 in the past three years.
Does Michael J Fitzmaurice South Dakota Veterans Home accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 4 of 5 Seven Sisters Living Center 52beds 95.8%in use 3.69nurse hours a day
- 1 of 5 Custer Care and Rehab Center 43beds –in use –nurse hours a day
- 5 of 5 Westhills Village Health Care Facility 44beds 93.4%in use 3.70nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Fall River County
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 43A136. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.