Smyth County, Virginia · Nursing home
SW VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr
4 of 5 overall from CMS
340 Bagley Circle, Marion, VA 24354
At a glance
- Overall rating 4 of 5 Above the state average of 3.0
- Nurse time per resident, per day Not reported
- Nursing staff who left in a year 19.6% Below the state average of 48.1%
- Health citations, last 3 inspection cycles 5 None at the harm level or above
- Fines in 3 years None None listed by CMS
- Certified beds in use 82.0% of 25 beds, on an average day
Arrows only show whether a figure is above or below the state average. They are not a judgment of the home.
SW VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr is a 25-bed nursing home in Marion, Virginia (Smyth County). CMS rates it 4 of 5 stars overall as of Sep 2026. CMS lists no fines in the past three years.
- Certified beds
- 25
- Residents per day (average)
- 20.5
- Certified since
- 1974 (52 yrs)
Government - State Participates in Medicaid
Bed use is this site's calculation: average residents per day divided by certified beds. It is an average, so it does not show today's openings.
Terms used on this page
- CMS
- The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the federal agency that publishes the ratings, staffing figures, inspection results and penalties shown here.
- Certified beds
- The number of federally certified beds CMS lists for the home.
- Deficiency or citation
- A federal requirement that inspectors found the home did not meet. Each one gets a letter from A to L for how serious it was and how many residents were affected. What the letters mean
- Actual harm
- Letters G, H and I: actual harm to a resident that is not immediate jeopardy.
- Immediate jeopardy
- Letters J, K and L: the problem caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury, harm, impairment or death to a resident.
- Inspection cycle
- A standard inspection plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to it. This page shows the three most recent cycles.
- Special Focus Facility (SFF)
- A home CMS has placed under closer oversight because of its inspection record. More about the program
Questions to ask SW VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr
Chosen from this home's public data.
- What is the daily private-pay rate, and are Medicaid beds available now?CMS does not publish prices
- Can we visit at a mealtime and again on a weekend?General
More in what to ask on a nursing home tour.
CMS star ratings
- Overall 4 of 5 Virginia average 3.0
- Health inspections 4 of 5 Virginia average 2.7
- Staffing 1 of 5 Virginia average 2.4
- Quality measures 5 of 5 Virginia average 3.9
The vertical line marks the Virginia average. Ratings run from 1 to 5. How to read CMS star ratings
Nurse staffing
Hours of care per resident per day, as the home reported to CMS.
What these roles do
Nurse aides give most hands-on daily care, such as help with bathing, dressing and meals. Licensed practical nurses give medications and routine nursing care. Registered nurses assess residents and direct their care.
- All nursing staff Not reported Virginia average 3.76
- Nurse aides Not reported Virginia average 2.07
- Licensed practical nurses Not reported Virginia average 1.00
- Registered nurses Not reported Virginia average 0.69
- All staff, weekends Not reported Virginia average 3.29
How much nurse staffing is enough? All bars share one scale, 0 to 10 hours. The vertical line marks the Virginia average; the national average for all nursing staff is 3.86 hours.
- Nursing staff turnover19.6%
- Virginia average48.1%
- Registered nurse turnover11.1%
- Virginia average48.2%
- Administrators who left0
Quality measures
CMS calculates these from residents' assessments and Medicare claims. They are shown as published, next to the Virginia and national averages. marks the measures CMS uses in its quality star rating; for those, the rating gives more points for a lower rate.
Long-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Virginia | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose need for help with daily activities has increased | 4.8% | 14.9% | 13.9% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who lose too much weight | 12.3% | 5.4% | 5.2% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a catheter inserted and left in their bladder | 0.0% | 0.4% | 0.8% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with a urinary tract infection | 0.0% | 1.6% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who have depressive symptoms | 8.8% | 18.7% | 12.8% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who were physically restrained | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents experiencing one or more falls with major injury | 0.0% | 3.6% | 3.2% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 95.5% | 90.9% | 93.6% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents whose ability to walk independently worsened | 1.8% | 15.6% | 14.1% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antianxiety or hypnotic medication | 35.4% | 20.6% | 19.5% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | 76.2% | 94.0% | 95.5% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents with pressure ulcers | 0.0% | 4.7% | 4.6% |
| Percentage of long-stay residents with new or worsened bowel or bladder incontinence | 2.5% | 21.8% | 19.0% |
| ★ Percentage of long-stay residents who received an antipsychotic medication | 87.5% | 14.2% | 15.4% |
| ★ Number of hospitalizations per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.52 | 1.90 |
| ★ Number of outpatient emergency department visits per 1000 long-stay resident days | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.48 | 1.78 |
Short-stay residents
| Measure | This home | Virginia | U.S. |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of short-stay residents assessed and appropriately given the pneumococcal vaccine | 88.9% | 73.7% | 82.0% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who newly received an antipsychotic medication | Too few residents or stays to report | 1.3% | 1.6% |
| Percentage of short-stay residents who were assessed and appropriately given the seasonal influenza vaccine | Too few residents or stays to report | 73.6% | 79.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who were rehospitalized after a nursing home admission | Too few residents or stays to report | 22.3% | 23.8% |
| ★ Percentage of short-stay residents who had an outpatient emergency department visit | Too few residents or stays to report | 11.5% | 12.0% |
Measure periods: April 2025 to March 2026 for most measures; July 2024 to June 2025 for the flu vaccine measures; January to December 2025 for the hospital and emergency department measures, which CMS risk-adjusts. See the measures on Medicare.gov
Inspection history
Inspectors cited 5 health deficiencies in the three most recent inspection cycles. None was graded as actual harm or immediate jeopardy.
| Standard inspection | Health | Fire safety |
|---|---|---|
| Dec 30, 2025 | 2 | 1 |
| Aug 31, 2023 | 2 | 0 |
| Feb 26, 2021 | 1 | 6 |
Virginia homes averaged 14.3 health deficiencies in the latest cycle; the national average is 9.2. Each cycle's health count covers the standard inspection on that date plus the complaint and infection-control citations CMS assigns to that cycle.
Health citations, three most recent inspection cycles (5)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Honor the resident's right to request, refuse, and/or discontinue treatment, to participate in or refuse to participate in experimental research, and to formulate an advance directive.
Resident Rights · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 23, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Develop and implement a complete care plan that meets all the resident's needs, with timetables and actions that can be measured.
Resident Assessment and Care Planning · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Feb 23, 2026)
-
FPotential for more than minimal harm, widespread
Ensure a licensed pharmacist perform a monthly drug regimen review, including the medical chart, following irregularity reporting guidelines in developed policies and procedures.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 23, 2024)
-
DPotential for more than minimal harm, isolated
Implement gradual dose reductions(GDR) and non-pharmacological interventions, unless contraindicated, prior to initiating or instead of continuing psychotropic medication; and PRN orders for psychotropic medications are only used when the medication is necessary and PRN use is limited.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Jan 23, 2024)
-
EPotential for more than minimal harm, pattern
Ensure medication error rates are not 5 percent or greater.
Pharmacy Service · Deficient, Provider has date of correction (Apr 1, 2021)
What severity letters A to L mean
Each sentence above is the requirement that was not met, in CMS's wording. For the inspection results as Medicare publishes them, open this home's page on Medicare.gov and look under "Health inspections".
Penalties, past three years
CMS lists no fines or payment denials for this home in the past three years.
Virginia homes averaged 0.5 fines and $23,688 in fine amounts; the national averages are 0.9 and $30,972.
Cost
Not in the public data. CMS does not publish what a nursing home charges.
Ask the home for its daily private-pay rate and whether a bed is open for your coverage. See what Medicare covers and how Medicaid pays for a nursing home.
Compared within Virginia
- Size282 of 289 by certified beds
- Virginia average residents per day99.5
- ChainNone listed
- Resident or family councilResident
- Homes in Smyth County3
Common questions
What is the CMS star rating for SW VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr?
SW VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr has an overall rating of 4 of 5 stars from CMS as of Sep 2026. Its health inspection rating is 4, staffing is 1 and quality measures is 5.
How many beds does SW VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr have?
SW VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr has 25 certified beds. It averages 20.5 residents per day, about 82.0% of its certified beds.
Has SW VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr been fined?
CMS lists no fines for this home in the past three years.
Does SW VA M H Inst Geri Trt Ctr accept Medicare or Medicaid?
CMS lists its participation as "Medicaid". Ask the home whether a bed is open for your coverage.
Guides for families looking at this home
- Understanding the recordWhat to ask on a nursing home tourQuestions that turn a home's public record into a useful conversation when you tour, plus what to look for yourself.
- Understanding the recordInspection severity letters A to LHow inspectors grade each deficiency by harm and by how many residents were affected.
- Understanding the recordHow to read CMS star ratingsWhat the overall, health inspection, staffing and quality measure ratings cover, and what they leave out.
Nearest nursing homes
- 5 of 5 Francis Marion Manor Health & Rehabilitation 109beds 54.8%in use 5.03nurse hours a day
- 4 of 5 Valley Rehabilitation and Nursing Center 180beds 85.9%in use 3.07nurse hours a day
- 1 of 5 Mountain Laurel Rehabilitation and Nursing 120beds 84.8%in use 3.14nurse hours a day
Sorted by straight-line distance. This is not a ranking or a recommendation. Compare all homes in Smyth County
Who to call in Virginia
These offices serve residents of every nursing home in Virginia.
- Long-term care ombudsman Virginia Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program (Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman) 800-552-5019 (Toll-free. Also 804-565-1600.) An advocate for residents and their families.
- File a complaint about a nursing home VDH Office of Licensure and Certification (OLC) Complaint Unit 1-800-955-1819 (Metro Richmond (804) 367-2106. Messages left after hours, on weekends or holidays are returned the next business day. An online complaint portal is also available.) The state agency that inspects nursing homes.
Virginia staffing, bed-hold and Medicaid rules · Residents' rights in every state
Source: CMS Provider Data Catalog, nursing home datasets processed Sep 1, 2026. CMS Certification Number 49E131. See this home's official record on Medicare.gov
See something shown incorrectly? Tell us. This site shows each record as CMS publishes it and cannot change the underlying record.